Kazakhstan: the New EU Green Gateway to East Asia

01.26.2021

European Union is revising the TEN-T rail freight corridors under the new Sustainable and Smart Mobility Strategy, so the effective connection of the Eurasian rail routes with the EU Core Backbone Network is a key priority

A new geography of transcontinental transport and trade is in the making across Eurasia as the «EU-China Express» freight trains have reached in 2020 a landmark transit of half million TEU containers equivalent, an increase of 65% over 2019.

The Trans-Eurasian Rail Corridor has established itself as a new important channel for EU trade with Eurasia and East Asia. The EU stands much to gain in adapting its transport network to this new reality.

The value of goods per rail container from EU to China could be estimated five times those of maritime transport. By end 2020, the volume of containers flows transiting on the «EU-China Express» rail routes has tripled.

Kazakh rail system accommodated most of the 2020 surge, handling 90% transit flows, while major congestion unfolded at the EU eastern borders. Kazakhstan, becoming the main transport hub in the middle of the Eurasian continent, has also turned into the new EU Green Gateway to East Asia.

The rapid expansion of train frequency and container volumes from the Trans-Eurasian freight routes has been causing difficulties at the EU borders. In particular in Poland, through which transit 95% of total " EU-China Express "container freight.

However, another important factor appears to be establishing a balance between east- and westbound rail traffic has been one of the main aims of the operators active on the New Silk Road.

The key importance to establish a smooth path along the freight routes directly between major multi-modal hubs, end destinations in respective economic locomotive regions that can feed cargo delivery hinterland with an efficient capillarity up to final clients has been highlighted for strengthening TEN T Rail Freight Corridors Network. The same principles take even more significance regarding the long distance transcontinental rail routes.

To achieve the EC targets, it appears necessary to concentrate efforts in the priority sections of the 9 Main Transport Corridors where the most significant freight transport volumes (all land transport modes included) are moved.

Another key point is to identify a limited number of strategic socio-economic hubs of this EU Core Backbone Network with the corresponding clusters of main intermodal terminals (strategic terminals) duly linked to intermediate and local terminals.

As the EU embarks on unprecedented overhauling of the "TEN- T Backbone Rail Freight Corridors, it provides also an excellent opportunity to integrate the optimum connections between the Core Backbone Freight Corridor Network and the key «Trans-Eurasian «Express» rail routes in the new «sustainable and smart» scheme.

Engagement and enhanced cooperation by the EU with the Eurasian/East Asian counterparts would be most timely to ensure effectively the building of strong competitive rail connectivity of the EU with China and East Asia across Eurasian space for the coming years.

Analytics on topic
Article
04.01.2021
Xinhua Headlines: 28 years on, China-Europe land bridge forging stronger ties
The New Eurasian Land Bridge is an international passageway linking the Pacific and the Atlantic. The bridge runs from China’s coastal cities of Lianyungang and Rizhao to Rotterdam of the Netherlands and Belgium’s Antwerp, passing through Kazakhstan, Russia, Belarus, Poland and Germany. It serves more than 30 countries and regions.
Report
05.01.2020
Report
05.01.2020
Defining the future of freight transport
The aim of the LEVITATE project is to develop a new impact assessment framework to enable policymakers to manage the introduction of connected and automated transport systems, maximise the benefits and utilise the technologies to achieve long-term visions and goals. An essential part of this work seeks to forecast societal level impacts of connected and automated transport systems (CATS). These include impacts on safety, environment, economy and society.

Казахстан: новые «зеленые ворота» ЕС в Восточную Азию

26.01.2021

Европейский союз пересматривает железнодорожные грузовые коридоры TEN-T в рамках новой Стратегии устойчивой и интеллектуальной мобильности, поэтому эффективное соединение евразийских железнодорожных маршрутов с основной магистральной сетью ЕС является ключевым приоритетом

В Евразии формируется новая география трансконтинентальных перевозок и торговли, поскольку грузовые поезда EU-China Express достигли в 2020 году знакового показателя в полмиллиона контейнеров в 20-футовом эквиваленте, что на 65% больше, чем в 2019 году.

Трансъевразийский железнодорожный коридор зарекомендовал себя как новый важный канал для торговли ЕС с Евразией и Восточной Азией. При этом для Европейского союза очевидны огромные преимущества от адаптации его транспортной сети к этой новой реальности.

Стоимость грузов, перевозимых посредством железнодорожных контейнеров из ЕС в Китай, можно оценить как в пять раз большую, чем стоимость морских перевозок. К концу 2020 года объем контейнерных потоков, следующих транзитом по железнодорожному маршруту EU-China Express, увеличился втрое.

Казахстанская железнодорожная система приняла на себя большую часть грузопотока в 2020 году, успешно обработав 90% транзитных потоков. В условиях увеличенного грузопотока Казахстан стал основным транспортным узлом в центре Евразийского континента и превратился в новые «зеленые ворота» ЕС в Восточную Азию.

Быстрое увеличение частоты движения поездов и рост объемов контейнеров, поступающих с трансъевразийских грузовых маршрутов, вызывают трудности на границах ЕС, в частности в Польше, через которую проходит 95% от общего объема контейнерных грузов EU-China Express.

Другим важным фактором и одной из основных целей операторов, работающих на Новом шелковом пути, является установление баланса между железнодорожным движением в восточном и западном направлениях.

Для укрепления единой Сети железных дорог TEN-T Rail Freight большое значение имеет организация налаженного движения по грузовым маршрутам непосредственно между крупными мультимодальными узлами, конечными пунктами назначения в соответствующих регионах, которые могут обеспечивать эффективную доставку грузов в глубь страны до конечных клиентов. Те же принципы приобретают еще большую важность в отношении магистральных трансконтинентальных железнодорожных маршрутов.

Для достижения этих целей ЕС необходимо сосредоточить усилия на приоритетных участках девяти основных транспортных коридоров, куда перемещаются наиболее значительные объемы грузовых перевозок (включая все виды наземного транспорта).

Другим ключевым моментом является определение ограниченного числа стратегических социально-экономических узлов базовой магистральной сети ЕС с соответствующими кластерами основных интермодальных терминалов (стратегических терминалов), должным образом связанных с промежуточными и местными терминалами.

Запланированный в ЕС беспрецедентный пересмотр магистральных железнодорожных грузовых коридоров TEN-T открывает также прекрасную возможность для соединения сети магистральных грузовых коридоров с ключевыми железнодорожными маршрутами «Трансъевразийского экспресса» и интеграции их в новую «устойчивую и умную» схему.

Для построения прочного и конкурентоспособного железнодорожного сообщения ЕС с Китаем и Восточной Азией через евразийское пространство на ближайшие годы крайне своевременным окажется усиление сотрудничества ЕС с партнерами из Евразии и Восточной Азии.

Дата выхода
21.12.2020
Источник
www.euractiv.com

EURACTIV was set up in 1999. It now involves circa 40 people at the European level, plus subcontractors and partners’ staff elsewhere in Europe. Together with this extended team, over 100 people contribute to the EURACTIV brand, of whom almost 50 are journalists.

Аналитика на тему
Обзор
02.03.2021
Обзор
02.03.2021
Контейнерные железнодорожные перевозки на евразийском пространстве в 2020 году

На фоне ограничений, связанных с борьбой с коронавирусом, лишь небольшое количество отраслей и рынков могут похвастаться обновленными рекордами и позитивным видением будущего. Одна из таких историй успеха 2020 года — евразийский железнодорожный маршрут.

Статья
07.12.2022
Тимур Карабаев: трансказахстанский транзит из Китая растёт

Глава группы компаний PTC Holding сообщил о намерении открыть филиал в Китае. По его словам, это позволит казахстанской компании работать напрямую с грузоотправителями из КНР, пользуясь возможностями перевалочного терминала на станции «Достык»