Prospects for establishment of the Eurasian transport corridor

01.12.2023

Transport can provide Central Asia with access to international markets. The new vision on transport in the region implies creation of transit crossroads to form the transport framework of Europe.

The difficulty is that Central Asian states’ access to world markets depends on transit through the territory of third countries. High transportation costs, limited access to international markets, and poor transport connectivity within the region itself act as constraints to sustainable socio-economic development in the region. According to the UNESCAP Transport Connectivity Index (UNESCAP, 2019) and the LPI Logistics Performance Index, all Central Asian states still lag behind developed countries. The three main challenges historically associated with transport development in Central Asia are infrastructure fragmentation, landscape, and lack of financial resources for transport infrastructure development.

Despite these challenges, the region has made significant progress over the past two decades in building and modernizing its transport infrastructure, including the Asian Highways (AH) and Trans-Asian Railway (TAR) networks. The volume of passenger and freight transportation has increased significantly, as well as transport accessibility for the population.

A significant transit flow of containers has already been attracted by transport corridors along the «East-West» axis that runs through Central Asia. For the period from 2014 to 2021, the quantity of container trains from China to Europe in transit increased more than 50-fold, and traffic in the reverse direction is also growing. In the long term, the aggregate railway container flow along the China-EEU-EU axis could reach up to 2 million TEUs per year.

The second axis, «North-South» is as much important. The active interaction of Central Asian countries with India, Iran, Afghanistan, as well as increase of other countries’ activities on the «North-South» ITC on development of transit and multimodal corridors is an impulse to increase the importance of transport routes on the axis.

The Eurasian transport corridor provides an opportunity to link ITCs passing through Central Asia, and thus creates multivariate logistics opportunities for the countries of the region.

International programs and initiatives to improve trade and transport connectivity play a significant role in the development of transport and trade and economic cooperation in Central Asia. International projects include CAREC, UN SPECA program, the international transport corridor Europe-Caucasus-Asia (TRACECA), «One Belt One Road», as well as projects funded by India, Japan (JICA), Germany (GIZ), USA (USAID) and other countries.

For the harmonious development of the region simultaneously with upgrading and expanding the transport infrastructure, the Central Asian countries should direct significant efforts toward harmonizing transport regulations and simplifying border crossing procedures — optimizing the «soft» (intangible) infrastructure. Digitalization of transport and logistics processes is an important area for development. Increased use of technology will ensure «seamless» transportation.

Analytics on topic
Article
08.05.2020
Railway freight express puts China-EU cooperation amid pandemic on fast track
Since the COVID-19 outbreak, the freight trains have been playing a crucial role in supporting Europe’s anti-epidemic fight by opening «green passages» for the transport of important supplies and raw materials.The China-Europe rail transport service is widely expected to play an increasingly important role in the post-pandemic era.
Report
08.26.2020
Report
08.26.2020
Value Chains Transformation and Transport Reconnection in Eurasia: Geo-Economic and Geopolitical Implications

Geographically and historically, transport and trade have united Eurasia as much as geopolitical conflicts and imperial rivalries have kept it fragmented. Since the 2000s and even more so with the launch of the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) and the Eurasian integration (EAEU) in progress, opportunities for a major diversification and modernization of the economies of continental Eurasia via transport and trade integration, at both a regional and global level, have risen dramatically and have in fact never been greater.

Перспективы формирования Евразийского транспортного каркаса

12.01.2023

Транспорт может обеспечить Центральной Азии доступ на международные рынки. Новый взгляд на транспорт в регионе состоит в построении транзитного перекрестка, который образует транспортный каркас Европы.

Сложность заключается в том, что доступ государств Центральной Азии к мировым рынкам зависит от транзита по территории третьих стран. Высокие транспортные издержки, ограниченный доступ к международным рынкам, слабая транспортная связанность внутри самого региона выступают сдерживающими факторами для устойчивого социально-экономического развития региона. По показателю транспортной связанности ЭСКАТО ООН (UNESCAP, 2019) и по показателю эффективности логистики LPI все государства Центральной Азии пока отстают от развитых стран.

Три основные сложности, исторически связанные с развитием транспорта в Центральной Азии, — инфраструктурная фрагментация, ландшафт и дефицит финансовых ресурсов на развитие транспортной инфраструктуры.

Невзирая на перечисленные трудности, за последние два десятилетия в регионе был достигнут существенный прогресс в строительстве и модернизации транспортной инфраструктуры, в том числе входящей в сеть Азиатских шоссейных дорог (АШД) и Трансазиатской железной дороги. Существенно возросли объемы пассажирских и грузовых перевозок, а также повысилась транспортная доступность для населения.

Значительный транзитный поток контейнеров уже привлекли транспортные коридоры по оси «Восток — Запад», проходящей через Центральную Азию. За период с 2014 по 2021 гг. число контейнерных поездов из Китая в Европу транзитом возросло более чем в 50 раз, перевозки в обратном направлении также растут. В перспективе агрегированный железнодорожный контейнеропоток по оси Китай — ЕАЭС — ЕС может составить до 2 млн ДФЭ в год.

Вторая ось, «Север — Юг», не менее важна. Активное взаимодействие стран Центральной Азии с Индией, Ираном, Афганистаном, а также активизация других стран, находящихся на МТК «Север — Юг», по вопросам развития транзита и мультимодальных коридоров является импульсом для повышения значимости транспортных маршрутов на оси.

Евразийский транспортный каркас обеспечивает возможность стыковки МТК, проходящих через Центральную Азию, и этим создает многовариантные возможности логистики для стран региона. Международные программы и инициативы по повышению торгово-транспортной связанности играют значительную роль в развитии транспорта и торгово-экономического сотрудничества в Центральной Азии. В числе международных проектов можно назвать ЦАРЭС, программу ООН СПЕКА, международный транспортный коридор Европа — Кавказ — Азия (ТРАСЕКА), «Один пояс, один путь» и проекты, финансируемые Индией, Японией (JICA), Германией (GIZ), США (USAID) и другими странами.

Для гармоничного развития региона одновременно с модернизацией и увеличением транспортной инфраструктуры страны Центральной Азии должны направить значительные усилия на гармонизацию регулирования перевозок и упрощение процедур пересечения границ — оптимизацию «мягкой» (нематериальной) инфраструктуры. Цифровизация транспортных и логистических процессов является важным направлением для развития. Расширение применения технологий обеспечит «бесшовные» перевозки.

Аналитика на тему
Обзор
14.08.2020
Обзор
14.08.2020
Контейнерные железнодорожные перевозки на евразийском пространстве в первом полугодии 2020 г.

Пандемия негативно повлияла на функционирование цепочек поставок из-за сбоев в транспортной инфраструктуре. Железнодорожный транспорт проявил себя надёжным способом поставок: объём контейнерных перевозок в сообщении Китай — Европа — Китай в 2020 г. резко увеличился на 57,6% по сравнению с первым полугодием 2019 г.

Статья
05.08.2020
Железнодорожные перевозки укрепляют сотрудничество ЕС и Китая в условиях пандемии
В условиях пандемии COVID-19 грузовые железнодорожные перевозки играют решающую роль в противоэпидемической борьбе Европы. Кроме того, стабильная работа железнодорожного сообщения между Китаем и Европой дала некоторый толчок для восстановления экономик на евразийском континенте путём стабилизации торговли и цепочек поставок. Ожидается, что железнодорожные перевозки будут занимать одно из центральных мест в постпандемическую эпоху.