IMF Regional Economic Outlook for Europe
06.22.2021
With new waves of COVID-19 infections hitting Europe, the recovery remains halting. However, vaccinations are progressing and thus Europe’s GDP growth is projected to rebound by 4.5 percent in 2021. Policymakers need to prepare measures to stimulate hiring and investment once the pandemic is under control.

The coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic continues to pose extraordinary challenges. New waves of infection have afflicted advanced and emerging European economies. Vaccination, a game changer, is under way but the pace of progress is still moderate and varies significantly across countries, with the biggest lags in several non-EU emerging European economies.


The recovery remains uneven. While industrial production has returned to pre-pandemic levels, services are still contracting. Accordingly, the recovery in countries with sizeable service sectors (for example, Croatia, Italy, Montenegro, Spain) lagged the rest of Europe by about 1 percentage point in the second half of 2020.


Several central banks cut policy rates further (for example, Iceland, Moldova, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia); the exception was Russia, which has hiked rates reflecting higher-thanexpected inflation. Turkey has also hiked rates in response to foreign exchange and inflation pressures, reversing its strong monetary stimulus in 2020. Central banks also continued implementing unconventional monetary policies.

The European Central Bank increased the pandemic emergency purchase program by €500 billion to €1.85 trillion and extended the targeted longer-term refinancing operations to mid-2022. Central banks in emerging European economies (Hungary, Poland, Romania, Turkey) continued to expand their balance sheets in various ways. As a result, financial conditions remain highly accommodative. The announcement of US fiscal stimulus has so far had limited spillovers on European yields.


Europe’s GDP is expected to rebound by 4.5 percent in 2021. This is 0.2 percentage point less than forecast in October 2020, reflecting the new COVID-19 waves and lockdowns. On the assumption that vaccines become widely available in the summer of 2021 and throughout 2022, GDP growth is projected at 3.9 percent in 2022, bringing Europe’s GDP back to the prepandemic levels. Long-term output losses relative to the pre-COVID-19 trend are projected at about 1.5 percent of GDP by 2025. However, these projections are likely to change as the full impact of the pandemic on the economy becomes clearer.

Inflation, currently contained by economic slack, is projected to edge up by 1.1 percentage pointsto 3.1 percent in 2021, partly due to higher commodity prices. Inflation expectations remain around or below targets, not least reflecting the strong credibility of major central banks, although they have risen from their historical lows in the euro area.


The full version of the article is available here.

Topics
EU
Release date
05.10.2021
Source
Analytics on topic
Report
03.02.2020
Report
03.02.2020
Chemical Industry of the European Union: Key Producers and their Transport and Logistics Capabilities
The EU is the largest chemicals supplier after China. Chemical products bear specific features defining the rules and the means of their transportation.
Article
02.03.2020
Transport: increasing oil consumption and greenhouse gas emissions hamper EU progress towards environment and climate objectives
Mobility plays a key role in the EU economy. However, the EU transport sector still relies heavily on fossil fuels and is responsible for one quarter of Europe’s greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions — a share that keeps growing. In addition, the sector is a significant source of air pollution despite significant progress achieved since 1990, especially of particulate matter (PM) and nitrogen dioxide (NO2), as well as the main source of environmental noise in Europe. Current efforts to limit the sector’s environmental and climate impacts in Europe are not sufficient to meet the EU’s long-term climate and environmental policy objectives.
Source: European Environment Agency

Перспективы развития экономики Европы. Прогноз МВФ (апрель 2021 года)
22.06.2021
Новая волна COVID-19 сдерживает восстановление европейской экономики. Однако вакцинация набирает ход, и поэтому прирост ВВП Европы ожидается на уровне 4,5% в 2021 году. Регуляторам необходимо разрабатывать меры по поддержке рынка труда и инвестиций после пандемии.

Пандемия COVID-19 остается экстраординарным вызовом для Европы. Новые волны заболеваемости оказывают негативное влияние на экономику развитых и развивающихся стран Европы. Вакцинация, способная существенно изменить положение дел, уже идет, но ее темпы все еще невелики и существенно различаются от страны к стране, причем наибольшее отставание наблюдается в нескольких развивающихся европейских странах, не являющихся членами ЕС.


Восстановление остается неравномерным. Хотя промышленное производство вернулось к уровню, предшествовавшему пандемии, объем сектора услуг по-прежнему сокращается. Соответственно, темпы восстановления в странах со значительным сектором услуг (Хорватия, Италия, Черногория, Испания) были ниже, чем в других странах Европы, на 1 п. п. во второй половине 2020 года.


Ряд центральных банков еще больше снизили ключевую ставку (например, в Исландии, Молдавии, Северной Македонии, Румынии, Сербии). Исключением стала Россия, повысившая ставку из-за уровня инфляции, оказавшегося выше ожиданий. Также, под давлением со стороны валютных и инфляционных факторов, повысила ставку Турция, прекратив тем самым монетарное стимулирование, проводившееся в 2020 году. В целом, центральные банки продолжают придерживаться нетрадиционных вариантов денежно-кредитной политики.

Европейский центральный банк увеличил программу экстренного выкупа на 500 млрд евро до 1,85 трлн евро и продлил программу целевого долгосрочного рефинансирования до середины 2022 года. Центробанки развивающихся экономик Европы (Венгрия, Польша, Румыния, Турция) продолжили расширение своих балансов. Как итог, финансовые условия остаются благоприятными, а объявление о программе налогово-бюджетного стимулирования в США до сих пор имело ограниченное влияние на доходность европейских активов.


Ожидается, что ВВП Европы вырастет на 4,5% в 2021 году, что на 0,2 п. п. меньше, чем прогнозировалось в октябре 2020 года. Такое снижение отражает влияние новой волны COVID-19 и новых карантинных ограничений. Исходя из предположения, что вакцины станут широко доступны летом 2021 года и в течение 2022 года, рост ВВП в 2022 году прогнозируется на уровне 3,9%, что вернет ВВП Европы к допандемическому уровню. Согласно прогнозам, к 2025 году долгосрочные потери производства по сравнению с трендом до COVID-19 составят около 1,5% ВВП. Однако эти прогнозы, вероятно, изменятся, когда станет более понятным весь масштаб воздействия пандемии на экономику.

Инфляция, сдерживаемая в настоящее время экономическим спадом, по прогнозам, вырастет на 1,1 п. п. до 3,1% в 2021 году — частично из-за более высоких цен на сырьевые товары. Инфляционные ожидания остаются на прежнем уровне или ниже целевых показателей, что не в последнюю очередь отражает высокий уровень доверия к центральным банкам.


Полная версия статьи доступна здесь.

Дата выхода
10.05.2021
Источник
Аналитика на тему
Статья
22.10.2020
Европейское железнодорожное партнерство станет преемником Shift2Rail

Европейская комиссия начала принимать предварительные заявки от желающих стать учредителями нового Европейского партнерства по исследованиям и инновациям в сфере железнодорожного транспорта, которое предлагается в качестве преемника нынешней инициативы Shift2Rail

Статья
08.06.2021
Железнодорожные ассоциации Европы выступают за продление Года железных дорог

Сообщество европейских железнодорожных и инфраструктурных компаний (CER), Европейская ассоциация операторов железнодорожной инфраструктуры (EIM) и Европейская ассоциация железнодорожной промышленности (UNIFE) призвали продлить Год железных дорог в ЕС.