The Truth About Eurasian Rail Freight Transport

10.31.2023

The bulk of railway freight between Asia and Europe crosses Russian territory. Yet the route has not been the focus of Western sanctions — so far.

Driven by China’s Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), from 2015 onwards rail-borne containerized cargo flows between the European Union (EU) and China increased steadily. Volumes hit a peak between 2020 and early 2022, the start the Russia-Ukraine escalation.

During 2021, well over 600,000 TEUs were moved between Chinese and European railports, with westbound cargo accounting for some two-thirds of the total. The trade represented a total value of some $40 billion. By comparison, containerized ocean freight between Asia and Europe via the Suez Canal route amounted to some 26.5 million TEUs in the same year, of which over 19 million TEUs were westbound.

The most important intercontinental railway corridor, now and in the foreseeable future, connects the two continents through Poland, Belarus, Russia, and Kazakhstan. Departure points are a number of large cities in western China, including Xi’an, Chengdu, Chongqing, Yiwu, and Wuhan, whereas the most important destinations in Europe include Duisburg, Hamburg, Lodz, Tilburg, and also Moscow. Changes in railway gauge, and therefore transshipment handling, take place on the Polish-Belarusian border (typically Malaszewicze/Brest) and on the Kazakh-Chinese border (typically Dostyk/Alashankou or Khorgos).

From an economic perspective, railway transport is competitively positioned between ocean and air transportation. With lead times ideally some 20 days, rail is much faster than ocean, while cheaper than air freight.

After the Russia-Ukraine escalation, cargo volumes transported on the Eurasian corridor dropped sharply. Firstly, the insecure international circumstances, sanctions threat, and public awareness made many cargo owners reluctant to use the route. Secondly, Western sanctions forbade moving specific types of goods, including military and so-called «dual-use» products, into Russia and Belarus. Nevertheless, European operators so far have not been obstructed in buying services from Russian Railways (RZD).

After the initial months of the Ukrainian conflict, volumes recovered to about half of their previous levels: over the whole of 2022 more than 400,000 TEUs were moved along these rail corridors. However, over the first half of 2023, the flow further decreased to some 114,000 containers, albeit with stable monthly volumes.

This might still seem more dramatic than it actually is: during 2022 ocean freight tariffs gradually recovered, relieving some of the earlier pressure on the railway corridor.

Evidently, cargo owners and railway operators in Europe and China would like to diversify their intercontinental services with alternative corridors, bypassing Russia. The so-called Middle Corridor transits Kazakhstan, the Caspian Sea, and Southern Caucasus; from there, southeast Europe can be reached through either Turkey or the Black Sea.

However, despite upgrades, capacity on the Middle Corridor will remain limited, and its complexity and longer lead times mostly prohibit a convincing business case.

Indeed, European operators have reported a mutual understanding with their Chinese counterparts on continuing their focus on the northern route. Perhaps curiously, such an outlook also appears to be reflected by recent upgrades of the Malaszewicze border crossing, planned for a total of 800 million euros, under the auspices of the Polish government. On balance, all hope may not be lost for this symbol of Eurasian connectivity.

Source
thediplomat.com

The Diplomat is an international online news magazine covering politics, society, and culture in the Indo-Pacific region. It is based in Washington, D. C.

Analytics on topic
Report
04.24.2024
Report
04.24.2024
Red Sea crisis: Impact on maritime and overland cargo traffic

The Red Sea crisis was a new challenge for maritime shipping, which begs the question of whether the maritime shipping market will be able to adapt to new circumstances or whether the unstable situation in the Red Sea will push shippers to switch to rail transport.

Article
05.31.2024
The role of Russia and China in the development of the transport and logistics potential of Eurasia

Eurasia is currently witnessing a significant increase in transport projects. This is due to increased interest from major players on the continent, such as Russia and China, who are seeking alternative transport routes in response to the challenges faced by maritime transport

Правда о евразийских железнодорожных грузовых перевозках

31.10.2023

Основная часть железнодорожных грузов между Азией и Европой проходит через территорию России. Однако этот маршрут до сих пор не был в центре внимания западных санкций.

Начиная с 2015 года благодаря китайской инициативе «Один пояс, один путь» железнодорожные контейнерные грузопотоки между ЕС и Китаем неуклонно увеличивались. Объемы достигли пика в период с 2020 по начало 2022 года, когда начался конфликт на Украине.

В течение 2021 года между китайскими и европейскими железнодорожными портами было перевезено более 600 тыс. ДФЭ, причем около двух третей от общего объема приходится на грузы, отправляемые на Запад. Общая сумма сделки составила около 40 млрд долларов. Для сравнения, морские контейнерные перевозки между Азией и Европой по маршруту Суэцкого канала в том же году составили около 26,5 млн ДФЭ, из которых более 19 млн ДФЭ были направлены на Запад.

В настоящее время Евразийский маршрут является самым важным межконтинентальным железнодорожным, который соединяет два континента через Польшу, Белоруссию, Россию и Казахстан. Пунктами отправления являются ряд крупных городов на западе Китая, включая Сиань, Чэнду, Чунцин, Иу и Ухань, а наиболее важные пункты назначения в Европе включают Дуйсбург, Гамбург, Лодзь, Тилбург, а также Москву. Изменения в ширине железнодорожной колеи и, следовательно, в обработке грузов происходят на польско-белорусской границе (Малашевичи/Брест) и на казахстанско-китайской границе (Достык/Алашанькоу или Хоргос).

С экономической точки зрения железнодорожный транспорт находится в конкурентоспособном. Так, при сроках выполнения заказа в идеале около 20 дней железнодорожные перевозки намного быстрее морских и при этом дешевле авиаперевозок.

После обострения российско-украинских отношений объемы грузов, перевозимых по Евразийскому маршруту, резко сократились. Во-первых, нестабильная международная обстановка и угроза санкций заставили многих грузовладельцев неохотно пользоваться этим маршрутом. Во-вторых, западные санкции запретили ввоз в Россию и Белоруссию определенных видов товаров, включая военную продукцию и так называемую продукцию «двойного назначения». Тем не менее, европейские операторы до сих пор не сталкивались с препятствиями при приобретении услуг у Российских железных дорог (РЖД).

После первых месяцев украинского конфликта объемы восстановились примерно до половины от их прежнего уровня: за весь 2022 год по этим железнодорожным коридорам было перевезено более 400 тыс. ДФЭ. Однако за первую половину 2023 года поток еще больше сократился примерно до 114 тыс. контейнеров, хотя и со стабильными ежемесячными объемами.

Это все еще может показаться более драматичным, чем есть на самом деле: в течение 2022 года тарифы на морские перевозки постепенно восстанавливались, что частично ослабило ранее существовавшее давление на железнодорожный коридор.

Очевидно, грузовладельцы и железнодорожные операторы в Европе и Китае хотели бы диверсифицировать свои межконтинентальные перевозки альтернативными коридорами в обход России. Так называемый Средний коридор проходит через Казахстан, Каспийское море и Южный Кавказ; оттуда в Юго-Восточную Европу можно попасть либо через Турцию, либо через Черное море.

Однако, несмотря на модернизацию, пропускная способность Среднего коридора останется ограниченной, а его сложность и более длительные сроки выполнения работ создают препятствия.

Действительно, европейские операторы сообщили о взаимопонимании со своими китайскими коллегами в отношении продолжения работы по северному маршруту. Возможно, такая перспектива также отражена в недавней модернизации погранперехода Малашевиче, запланированной на общую сумму 800 млн евро под эгидой польского правительства.

Оригинал статьи доступен на английском языке.

Источник
thediplomat.com

The Diplomat — международный онлайн-журнал, посвященный вопросам политики, обществознания и культуры в Индо-тихоокеанском регионе. Базируется в столичном округе Вашингтон, США.

Аналитика на тему
Обзор
06.06.2019
Обзор
06.06.2019
Развитие высокоскоростных железных дорог в Китае
С 2008 года в Китае было введено в эксплуатацию более 25 000 км высокоскоростных железнодорожных линий, что намного больше, чем общая протяжённость введённых высокоскоростных линий во всём мире. В отчёте Всемирного банка обобщён опыт Китая и представлены рекомендации для других стран по развитию высокоскоростного сообщения.
Статья
31.03.2023
Исследование о железнодорожных пограничных переходах: значительный потенциал для сокращения времени в пути

ERA предлагает решения и подчеркивает необходимость дальнейшего сокращения национальных правил и дальнейшей адаптации Технических спецификаций по интероперабельности (TSIS) для содействия гармонизации в рамках EuropERA - Агентства Европейского союза по железным дорогам.