Economic conditions outlook, June 2021
07.13.2021
Executives’ overall views on the economy continue to improve. As more and more economies are recovering from the pandemic, perceptions of potential risks are evolving.

Positive momentum continues to build in many respondents’ home countries and in the world economy, according to our latest McKinsey Global Survey on economic conditions. Yet by geography, the results reveal starkly different sentiments between developed economies (where more countries are experiencing or anticipating a recovery) and emerging economies (where several regions face ongoing public-health challenges). Executives in developed economies now report much more positive views than their counterparts—a reversal from the first year of the pandemic—as well as new threats to growth. As the pandemic recedes as an outsize and largely universal risk to the economy, respondents believe that inflation and supply-chain disruptions are emergent.

Still, executives in all geographies continue to report an increasingly positive outlook on the economy and believe that their companies’ prospects have never been brighter.

Risk to growth.png

The COVID-19 pandemic still tops the list of risks to economic growth in respondents’ countries, but the share of executives saying so has declined significantly. Compared with April, respondents in developed economies also consider the pandemic a much less acute concern. Twenty-eight percent of them cite the pandemic as a risk to domestic growth, compared with half of their emerging-economy peers. In the previous survey, 65 percent in developed economies identified the pandemic as a risk to their countries’ growth.

By region, executives’ views on the biggest risks to growth at home have also shifted. In North America, respondents most often cite inflation as a risk to growth (45 percent say so), followed by supply-chain disruptions, domestic political conflicts, and rising taxes. And in Latin America, respondents cite domestic political conflicts more than the pandemic (43 percent, versus 32 percent).

While unemployment concerns are ebbing on average—even in Europe, where since September 2020 respondents have been much more likely than others to expect rising unemployment—the picture is more mixed in a few geographies. Respondents in Asia–Pacific, India, and Latin America are nearly evenly split between those who expect the unemployment rates in their countries to increase and to decrease.

Economic conditions.png
Executives also believe that interest rates are poised to rise. Just over half of all respondents believe that their countries’ interest rates will increase in the next six months, up from 38 percent in the previous quarter. But respondents’ views vary significantly by region. In North America, 70 percent expect rising interest rates, followed by their peers in Latin America (64 percent), while in India, only 22 percent say the same.

On average, and everywhere but India and developing markets (including the Middle East, North Africa, South Asia, and sub-Saharan Africa), executives’ sentiment about their home economies continues to brighten. Seventy-three percent of all respondents say that conditions in their own economies are better now than they were six months ago, up from 53 percent in the previous quarter, which marked the first time in three years that a majority of respondents reported improving conditions at home.

Finally, respondents say that their own companies’ prospects continue to improve. An increasing share expect that their workforce sizes will grow in the next few months, while 74 percent expect that company profits and demand for their companies’ offerings will increase in the next six months. On the demand front, this is the largest share to predict an increase since we began asking the question in April 2009.

Topics
Release date
06.29.2021
Source
www.mckinsey.com

McKinsey & Company is an American worldwide management consulting firm, founded in 1926 by University of Chicago professor James O. McKinsey, that advises on strategic management to corporations, governments, and other organizations.

News on topic
Analytics on topic
Report
06.12.2020
Report
06.12.2020
French economic outlook
The current situation in France’s rail freight market and the forecast of the main macroeconomic indicators point to the revival of economic activity.
Report
12.28.2020
Report
12.28.2020
Redrawing the Map of Global Trade

The paths of the COVID-19 pandemic and the recovery of the global economy remain impossible to predict. But it is becoming increasingly clear that, disruptive impact on international trade will leave a lasting mark. Companies should take a fresh, holistic view of the markets and trade relationships that are likely to drive growth and secure competitive advantage in the post-COVID-19 world.

Прогноз состояния экономики, июнь 2021
13.07.2021

Видение топ-менеджментом перспектив состояния мировой экономики продолжает улучшаться. По мере того как все большее число экономик восстанавливается после пандемии, меняется и восприятие потенциальных рисков.

Глобальный опрос McKinsey показал нарастание позитивного восприятия перспектив мировой экономики, хотя оно и варьируется географически от страны к стране. Различия в восприятии проявляются между развитыми экономиками (ожидание восстановления) и развивающимися (борьба с коронакризисом). Топ-менеджеры в развитых государствах теперь имеют более позитивное видение — что отличает эти результаты от опросов в первый год пандемии — и сосредоточены на новых рисках для роста.

По мере ослабления пандемии как колоссального и во многом универсального риска, все большее число респондентов называют инфляцию и сбои в цепочках поставок в качестве новых зарождающихся рисков.

Risk to growth.png

Пандемия COVID-19 по-прежнему возглавляет список рисков для экономического роста, но доля руководителей, заявляющих об этом, значительно снизилась. По сравнению с апрельским опросом даже респонденты в развитых странах теперь считают пандемию гораздо менее острой проблемой: только 28% из них ссылаются на пандемию как на угрозу экономическому росту — против половины их коллег в развивающихся странах. В предыдущем опросе 65% респондентов в развитых странах называли пандемию риском для их национальной экономики.

В региональном разрезе взгляды топ-менеджмента на внутренние риски для роста также изменились. В Северной Америке респонденты чаще всего указывают на инфляцию как на риск для роста (так считают 45%), затем следуют сбои в цепочке поставок, внутренние политические конфликты и рост налогов. А в Латинской Америке респонденты чаще ссылаются на внутриполитические конфликты, чем на пандемию (43% против 32%).

В то же время значение проблемы безработицы снижается — даже в Европе, где начиная с сентября 2020 года респонденты с гораздо большей вероятностью, чем другие, ожидали ее роста. В других регионах картина менее однозначная. Респонденты в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе, Индии и Латинской Америке почти поровну разделились на тех, кто ожидает, что уровень безработицы в их странах будет расти, и тех, кто ожидает снижение.

Economic conditions.png

В число рисков также входит рост процентных ставок. Чуть более половины всех респондентов считают, что процентные ставки в их странах повысятся в ближайшие полгода, по сравнению с 38% в предыдущем квартале. Но мнения респондентов существенно различаются в зависимости от региона. В Северной Америке 70% опрошенных ожидают повышения процентных ставок, за ними следуют их коллеги в Латинской Америке (64%), в то время как в Индии только 22% разделяют это утверждение.

В среднем, везде кроме Индии и развивающихся рынков (включая Ближний Восток, Северную Африку, Южную Азию и страны Африки к югу от Сахары) настроения топ-менеджеров в отношении их экономик продолжают улучшаться: 73% всех респондентов говорят, что условия в их экономике сейчас лучше, чем полгода назад, по сравнению с 53% в предыдущем квартале. Впервые за три года большинство респондентов сообщили об улучшении экономических условий.

Наконец, респонденты заявляют об улучшении перспектив их собственных компаний. Все большая доля топ-менеджеров ожидает увеличения численности рабочей силы в ближайшие месяцы, а 74% ожидают рост прибыли и спроса на товары и услуги своих компаний в следующие полгода. При этом на рост спроса рассчитывает наибольшее число респондентов за все время проведения опросов начиная с апреля 2009 года.

Полная версия статьи доступна здесь.


Дата выхода
29.06.2021
Источник
www.mckinsey.com

McKinsey & Company — международная американская консалтинговая компания в сфере управления, основанная в 1926 году профессором Чикагского университета Джеймсом МакКинси. Сфера деятельности — консультационные услуги для крупных корпораций, правительств и других организаций по вопросам стратегического управления.

Аналитика на тему
Обзор
28.12.2020
Обзор
28.12.2020
Перекраивая карту международной торговли

По-прежнему невозможно предсказать масштабы влияния пандемии COVID-19 на мировую экономику. Но становится все более очевидным, что ее разрушительное воздействие оставит неизгладимый след в международной торговле. Компаниям следует по-новому взглянуть на те рынки и торговые отношения, которые могут способствовать росту и обеспечить конкурентное преимущество в мире после COVID-19.

Обзор
12.06.2020
Обзор
12.06.2020
Обзор экономики Франции

Текущая конъюнктура рынка грузовых железнодорожных перевозок Франции и прогнозные значения основных макроэкономических показателей свидетельствуют об оживлении экономической активности.