Timur Karabaev: Trans-Kazakh Transit from China Grows

12.07.2022

The head of the PTC Holding group of companies announced his intention to open a branch in China. According to him, this will allow the Kazakh company to work directly with shippers from China, using the capabilities of the transshipment terminal at the Dostyk station.

PTC Holding: from Rolling Stock to Own Terminals

PTC Holding is a diversified international dynamically developing group of companies in the field of railway rolling stock and infrastructure. The Holding carries out cargo transportation in the direction of Belarus, Georgia, Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, China, Ukraine, Mongolia, Azerbaijan and the European Union. Last year, the volume of traffic of this company amounted to 14.1 million tons, this result was achieved both through its own fleet of rolling stock (more than 11.8 thousand units) and through the operating fleet (more than 14 thousand cars).

Last summer, the infrastructure of PTC Holding was replenished with a multifunctional cargo transshipment terminal at the Dostyk station with a capacity of 160,000 TEUs (twenty-foot equivalent) per year. And already this summer, the second stage of the project was put into operation at this Dostyk TransTerminal site, which doubled the terminal’s capacity by half, up to 320,000 TEUs per year. This site allows for several hours to reload containers that arrived at the station in trains on a narrow gauge of 1435 mm from China, into trains on a wide gauge (1520 mm) — and in the opposite direction.

When «Draft» at the Station Becomes an Advantage

In 2021, PTC Holding quickly became convinced that the main factor holding back fast reloading is the tying of all terminals operating at Dostyk to the same railway station, which creates traffic jams that delay the departure of trains in the direction of Europe and Russia. In this regard, the investor, who plowed 6.1 billion tenge in the construction of the first stage of the terminal and 9.2 billion tenge in the construction of the second stage, foresaw the necessity to apply end-to-end technology at the Dostyk TransTerminal, which makes it possible to supply trains for unloading and loading autonomously from the main line.

Who Has Already Become a Client of Dostyk TransTerminal

All these advantages of the new terminal attracted the attention of many international and foreign companies: over the year, the largest amount of cargo through it (115 thousand TEUs) was transshipped under the projects of UTLC ERA — the Eurasian Railway Alliance of Kazakhstan, Russian and Belarusian Railways. Own projects of PTC Cargo, a subsidiary of PTC Holding that manages the terminal, assured transhipment of more 14,000 TEUs. The geography of PTC Cargo’s own projects, implemented in partnership with the Russian companies TransContainer and Logbox, is quite diverse: 9.4 thousand TEUs were sent to the Moscow railway junction during the year, 3.1 thousand TEUs to Europe, Uzbekistan — 1.3 thousand TEUs, another 0.2 thousand TEUs were Kazakh goods sent in containers for import during this year.

All infrastructure Was Built with Private Money

Dostyk TransTerminal, the connection to the railway line and the entire infrastructure were built with private money. The total investment in the project amounted to 23.5 billion tenge, or about $49 million. Projects such as Dostyk TransTerminal are an example of the right synergy of public and private investment in the development of logistics infrastructure.

Analytics on topic
Article
11.11.2022
From Fish in Sweden to College in Vanuatu: Where and How Much China Is Investing

China has earned the reputation of being the second economy in the world. The country has shown impressive economic growth over the past decades and is expanding its influence by investing trillions of dollars around the world

Source:
Article
12.27.2023
Landmark megaproject: Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan to be connected via new railroad

Construction of a new railway line Darbaza — Maktaaral with a length of 152 km started in Turkestan region. Alikhan Smailov, Prime Minister of the Republic of Kazakhstan, gave an official start to the works in the mode of teleconference.

Тимур Карабаев: трансказахстанский транзит из Китая растёт

07.12.2022

Глава группы компаний PTC Holding сообщил о намерении открыть филиал в Китае. По его словам, это позволит казахстанской компании работать напрямую с грузоотправителями из КНР, пользуясь возможностями перевалочного терминала на станции «Достык»

PTC Holding: от подвижного состава до собственных терминалов

PTC Holding — это диверсифицированная международная динамично развивающаяся группа компаний в сфере железнодорожного подвижного состава и инфраструктуры. Холдинг осуществляет грузоперевозки в направлении Беларуси, Грузии, России, Кыргызстана, Узбекистана, Туркмении, Таджикистана, Афганистана, Китая, Украины, Монголии, Азербайджана и Европейского союза. В прошлом году объем перевозок этой компании составил 14,1 млн тонн, этот результат был достигнут как за счет собственного парка подвижного состава (более 11,8 тыс. единиц), так и за счет операционного парка (более 14 тыс. вагонов).

Инфраструктура PTC Holding летом прошлого года пополнилась многофункциональным грузоперевалочным терминалом на станции «Достык» мощностью 160 тыс. ДФЭ (двадцатифутовый эквивалент) в год. А уже летом нынешнего года на этой площадке Dostyk TransTerminal была введена в эксплуатацию вторая очередь проекта, которая удвоила мощности терминала вдвое, до 320 тыс. ДФЭ в год. Эта площадка позволяет за несколько часов перегрузить контейнеры, прибывшие на станцию в поездах по узкой колее 1435 мм из Китая, в составы на широкой (1520 мм) — и в обратном направлении.

Когда «сквозняк» на станции становится преимуществом

В 2021 году PTC Holding быстро убедились, что основным фактором, сдерживающим быстрый перегруз, является привязка всех действующих на «Достык» терминалов к одному железнодорожному полотну станции, что порождает «пробки», задерживающие отправление составов в направлении Европы и России. В этой связи инвестор, который вложил в строительство первой очереди терминала 6,1 млрд тенге и 9,2 млрд тенге — в строительство второй очереди, предугадал необходимость применять на Dostyk TransTerminal сквозную технологию, позволяю, позволяющую подавать составы под разгрузку и погрузку автономно от магистрали.

Кто уже стал клиентом Dostyk TransTerminal

Все эти преимущества нового терминала привлекли к нему внимание многих международных и иностранных компаний: за год наибольшее количество грузов через него (115 тыс. ДФЭ) было перевалено по проектам ОТЛК ЕРА — Евразийского железнодорожного альянса казахстанских, российских и белорусских железных дорог. Собственные проекты PTC Cargo, дочерней компании PTC Holding, управляющей терминалом, обеспечили перевалку еще 14 тыс. ДФЭ. География собственных проектов PTC Cargo, осуществляемых в партнерстве с российскими компаниями «Трансконтейнер» и «Логбокс», достаточно разнообразна: в направлении Московского железнодорожного узла за год было направлено 9,4 тыс. ДФЭ, в Европу — 3,1 тыс. ДФЭ, в Узбекистан — 1,3 тыс. ДФЭ, еще 0,2 тыс. ДФЭ составили казахстанские товары, отправленные контейнерами в течение этого года на импорт.

Вся инфраструктура построена на частные деньги

Dostyk TransTerminal, примыкание к железнодорожной магистрали и вся инфраструктура построены на частные деньги. Общий объем инвестиций в проект составил 23,5 млрд тенге, или около $49 млн. Такие проекты, как Dostyk TransTerminal, — это пример правильной синергии государственного и частного инвестирования в развитие логистической инфраструктуры.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
31.05.2023
Весь мир теоретически может стать взаимосвязанным

Основная проблема мировой экономики заключается в необходимости углубления региональной связанности в качестве основы дальнейшего международного экономического сотрудничества. Единственный способ реализации этой задачи заключается в развитии современной инфраструктуры. Реальную возможность решения основных задач экономического развития сегодня предоставляет инициатива «Один пояс, один путь» (ОПОП) как средство ликвидации бедности за счет комплексного развития инфраструктуры. 

Статья
24.01.2020
Средний Коридор: больше возможностей для транзита из Китая в ЕС
Создаются новые возможности для грузоотправителей и экспедиторов из Европы и Китая при перевозках по Среднему Коридору.