Uskenbayev: Kazakhstan's Transport Industry Shows Positive Dynamics

05.12.2022

The Government meeting, chaired by Prime Minister Alikhan Smailov, has considered the development of Kazakhstan's transit and transport potential.

Presentations were made by Kairbek Uskenbayev, Minister of Industry and Infrastructure Development of Kazakhstan, and Nurlan Sauranbayev, Chairman of the Board of JSC NC KTZ.

Currently, the transport industry in Kazakhstan is showing positive dynamics. In January — February 2022 the volume of cargo transported by rail increased by 10% compared to the previous year and amounted to 70.8 million tons; the volume of transit cargo rose by 20% to 4 million tons and the volume of container freight increased by 12% with an index of 174.7 thousand TEU.

Key growth indicators are defined in the national program Strong Regions — Drivers of National Development. By 2025 it is planned to increase the volume of transit traffic to 30 million tons.

To achieve this goal, the Ministry is taking measures to build railway infrastructure, upgrade rolling stock, containerize cargo, develop alternative routes, and develop international corridors.

Three key infrastructure projects have been initiated by KTZ to increase capacity with China:

  1. construction of the second track on the Dostyk — Moyinty section;

  2. construction of a bypass line around Almaty;

  3. construction of the Darbaza — Maktaaral railway line.

This year KTZ plans to purchase 1.5 thousand freight cars. The Minister of Industry and Infrastructure Development also suggests introducing rewards for the purchase of electric locomotives (ALSTOM) and diesel-powered locomotives (LCZ GE) produced in Kazakhstan.

A need and opportunities analysis has been carried out to increase containerization. In the first phase, the plan is to containerize 2 million tonnes of cargo and produce up to 10 thousand containers annually. The Ministry has worked out alternative routes and corridors for the export and transit cargo transportation. Prompt measures have been taken to prevent the rupture of cargo supply chains. An agreement was reached with Azerbaijan, Georgia and Turkey to establish a Joint Venture on the Trans-Caspian International Transport Route.

To improve the competitiveness of Kazakh carriers, work is under way to increase the number of vehicle fleet from 7,615 to 15,000 units by 2025. For these purposes in the period from 2023 to 2028 Euro-5 tractor units will be exempt from the initial registration and recycling fee.

In general, all transport corridors are operating at full capacity. Some sections are undergoing revamping, which is expected to be completed in 2030.

In 2021, container transit through the territory of Kazakhstan along all corridors increased 4.3 times compared to 2016 (from 245,000 to 1,066,000 TEU). According to international consultants, the potential for container transit through Kazakhstan is 5-8% of the container flow between China/Southeast Asia and Europe.

In 2021, operational cargo turnover was 239.3 billion tonnes/km, which became the historical maximum for the years of independence of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Transit reached 39.6 billion tons/km (21 million tons). Transit growth was 2% compared to 2020. The total income amounted to 120.6 billion tenge, which is 7.4 times higher than the actual income in 2020. The average salary of KTZ employees for February 2022 amounted to 273 thousand tenge, which is 41.5% more than the same period last year.

It is also worth noting that within the EU’s low-carbon strategy, rail transport has a key role to play, as one of its benefits is environmental friendliness and energy efficiency.

Analytics on topic
Report
12.28.2020
Report
12.28.2020
International Transport Corridors in Eurasian Space: Development of Latitudinal Routes

Railroads play a crucial role in the Eurasian ITCs. Because of the speed and reliability of deliveries it provides, railway transportation is starting to compete with shipment by sea (advantage of speed) and air (advantage of cost). The competition with alternative routes has to be taken into account, whereas the strategy should be built around the available advantages of the existing routes and the complementary nature of others.

Article
06.29.2022
Turkey's place in the Asia-Europe logistics reconfiguration

With great ambitions in transport and logistics, Turkey hopes to benefit from the reconfiguration of global supply chains.

Ускенбаев: Транспортная отрасль Казахстана демонстрирует положительную динамику

12.05.2022

На заседании Правительства, прошедшем под председательством премьер-министра РК Алихана Смаилова, рассмотрен вопрос развития транзитно-транспортного потенциала Казахстана.

С докладами выступили министр индустрии и инфраструктурного развития РК Каирбек Ускенбаев и председатель правления АО «НК «КТЖ» Нурлан Сауранбаев. В настоящее время транспортная отрасль Казахстана демонстрирует положительную динамику. За январь — февраль 2022 года объем грузоперевозок железнодорожным транспортом увеличился на 10% относительно прошлого года и составил 70,8 млн тонн; объем перевозок транзитных грузов вырос на 20% и составил 4 млн тонн, контейнеров — на 12% с показателем в 174,7 тыс. ДФЭ.

Ключевые показатели роста определены в национальной программе «Сильные регионы — драйверы развития страны». До 2025 года планируется довести объем транзитных перевозок до 30 млн тонн.

Для достижения поставленной задачи министерством принимаются меры по строительству железнодорожной инфраструктуры, обновлению подвижного состава, контейнеризации грузов, развитию альтернативных маршрутов, развитию международных коридоров.

Для увеличения пропускной способности с Китаем КТЖ инициированы три ключевых инфраструктурных проекта:

  1. строительство вторых путей на участке Достык — Мойынты;

  2. строительство обводной линии вокруг Алматы;

  3. строительство железнодорожной линии Дарбаза — Мактаарал.

В текущем году КТЖ планирует закупить 1,5 тыс. грузовых вагонов. МИИР также предлагает внедрить вознаграждение при покупке произведенных в Казахстане электровозов (ALSTOM) и тепловозов (ЛК3 GE).

Для повышения контейнеризации проведен анализ потребностей и возможностей. На первом этапе планируется провести контейнеризацию 2 млн тонн грузов и производить до 10 тыс. контейнеров ежегодно. Министерством проработаны альтернативные маршруты и коридоры перевозки экспортных и транзитных грузов. Предприняты оперативные меры по предотвращению разрыва логистических цепей поставок грузов. Достигнута договоренность с Азербайджаном, Грузией и Турцией по созданию Совместного предприятия на Транскаспийском международном транспортном маршруте.

В целях повышения конкурентоспособности казахстанских перевозчиков проводится работа по увеличению численности автопарка с 7615 ед. до 15 тыс. ед. к 2025 году. Для этих целей в период с 2023 по 2028 годы седельные тягачи экологического класса Евро-5 будут освобождены от первичной регистрации и утилизационного сбора.

В целом все транспортные коридоры функционируют в полную мощность. По отдельным участкам ведется реконструкция, завершение которой планируется в 2030 году.

В 2021 году рост контейнерного транзита через территорию Казахстана по всем коридорам составил 4,3 раза к уровню 2016 года (с 245 тыс. до 1066 тыс. ДФЭ). По данным международных консультантов, потенциал контейнерного транзита через Казахстан составляет 5–8% от контейнеропотока между Китаем/ЮВА и Европой.

В 2021 году эксплуатационный грузооборот составил 239,3 млрд т/км, что стало историческим максимумом за годы независимости Республики Казахстан. Транзит достиг 39,6 млрд т/км (21 млн тонн). К уровню 2020 года рост транзита составил 2%. Итоговая прибыль составила 120,6 млрд тг, что в 7,4 раза больше факта 2020 года. Средняя заработная плата сотрудников КТЖ за февраль 2022 года составила 273 тыс. тг, что на 41,5% больше аналогичного периода прошлого года.

Стоит также отметить, что в рамках низкоуглеродной стратегии ЕС ключевая роль отводится развитию именно ж/д транспорта, поскольку одним из его преимуществ является экологичность и энергоэффективность.

Аналитика на тему
12.04.2021
Опрос IPC на тему трансграничной электронной коммерции за 2019 год
Опрос Международной почтовой корпорации (International Post Corporation, IPC) на тему трансграничной электронной коммерции за 2019 год — один из самых масштабных исследовательских проектов в своем роде. Его цель — понять предпочтения и опыт потребителей в отношении международной доставки товаров, приобретенных посредством электронной торговли. В отчет за этот год также включен обзор тенденций, выделенных на основании данных по 25 странам.
Статья
11.07.2019
Как превратить выбросы СО2 в KPI для грузоперевозок
При сохранении прежних темпов увеличения спроса на грузоперевозки, объём выбросов СО2 может достичь высоких значений. Для предотвращения этого был разработан метод, позволяющий участникам цепочки поставок превратить выбросы СО2 в KPI.