Diversification of cargo flow from Kyrgyzstan to Russia and Belarus

04.10.2024

Kyrgyzstan’s EAEU membership has created favourable environment for expanding economic ties and improving the investment climate in the republic. The EAEU countries, particularly Russia and Belarus are among Kyrgyzstan’s priority foreign economic partners.

As of 2023, Kyrgyzstan’s bilateral trade within the EAEU space amounted to $4,357.3 million in monetary terms, of which Russia accounted for 67 percent and Belarus 2.4 percent. Russia remains one of Kyrgyzstan’s leading trade and economic partners and accounts for about 19 percent of the republic’s foreign trade in 2023.

Bilateral trade between Kyrgyzstan and Russia amounted to $2,930.7 million in 2023, down 15.7 percent compared to 2022.

Bilateral trade between Kyrgyzstan and Belarus has been mixed over the past six years, with particularly significant growth observed in 2022. In 2023, bilateral trade amounted to $103.4 million, down 18.3 percent compared to 2022.

Russia exports to Kyrgyzstan metal products, refined fuels, and agricultural products. Kyrgyzstan supplies Russia with fruits, vegetables, textiles, clothing, and agricultural products. Timber products, as well as plastic and other chemical products, prevail in the cargo flow from Belarus to Kyrgyzstan. Kyrgyzstan supplies Belarus with livestock and horticultural products.

Kyrgyzstan has untapped capabilities in logistics. The country is located in the heart of Central Asia and borders on Kazakhstan, China, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan, which makes it a potential transit hub on routes connecting these countries and neighbouring regions.

Most of the commodity items are containerable, which makes railway operations between Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Belarus a promising area of business. Better transport connectivity can generate cumulative effects for the three countries, as it will boost trade and economic activity. The lack of a single rail link connecting the northern and southern Kyrgyzstan that is also integrated into the crossborder rail network holds back the development of the container rail transport between the EAEU partners.

Analytics on topic
Article
11.17.2022
The People' Republic of China is Ready to Intensify Efforts to Accelerate the Digital and Intelligent Development of Freight Transportation along the China-Europe Route

China is ready to cooperate with countries along the China-Europe railway route to jointly promote the implementation of major infrastructure projects that will increase the efficiency of rail freight traffic.

Article
05.18.2020
Exporters urged to adjust to global demands
Though China saw its exports recover in April, driven by the surging shipment of electromechanical, textile and plastic products, trade experts urged the country’s export-oriented companies to analyze global market demand as early as possible during the post-pandemic period to stay competitive.

Диверсификация грузопотока Кыргызстана в направлении России и Беларуси

10.04.2024

Участие Кыргызстана в ЕАЭС обеспечивает благоприятные условия для развития хозяйственных связей, улучшения инвестиционного климата в республике в рамках единого экономического пространства. Приоритетными направлениями внешнеэкономической деятельности Кыргызстана выступают страны ЕАЭС, в частности Россия и Беларусь.

На 2023 год объем взаимной торговли Кыргызстана на пространстве ЕАЭС в стоимостном выражении составил 4 357,3 млн долларов, из которых на Россию пришлось 67%, на Беларусь — 2,4%. Россия остается одним из ведущих торгово-экономических партнеров Кыргызстана с долей во внешней торговле республики около 19% за 2023 год.

В 2023 году объем взаимной торговли Кыргызстана и России составил 2 930,7 млн долларов, снизившись на 15,7% по сравнению с 2022 годом.

На протяжении последних шести лет взаимная торговля Кыргызстана и Беларуси имела разнонаправленную динамику, особенно значительный рост наблюдался в 2022 году. В 2023 году объем взаимной торговли составил 103,4 млн долларов и по сравнению с 2022 годом сократился на 18,3%.

Из России в Кыргызстан направляются такие товары, как изделия из металлов, продукция из переработанного топлива и сельскохозяйственная продукция. В Россию из Кыргызстана ввозятся фрукты, овощи, текстиль, одежда и продукты сельскохозяйственной переработки. В грузопотоке из Беларуси в Кыргызстан преобладает продукция из древесины, пластмассы и прочие химические продукты. Из Кыргызстана в Беларусь поставляется продукция животноводства и плодоовощная продукция.

Кыргызстан обладает потенциалом в сфере логистики. Расположение страны, граничащей с Казахстаном, Китаем, Таджикистаном и Узбекистаном, в сердце Центральной Азии делает республику потенциальным транзитным пунктом на маршрутах между этими странами и сопредельными регионами.

Большая часть товарных позиций относится к категории контейнеропригодных, в связи с чем развитие железнодорожного сообщения между Кыргызстаном, Россией и Беларусью становится перспективным направлением. Повышение транспортной связанности способно генерировать кумулятивные эффекты для трех стран, поскольку будет стимулировать торговлю и экономическую активность. Сдерживающим фактором для развития контейнерных ж/д перевозок между партнерами по ЕАЭС выступает отсутствие единого железнодорожного сообщения между севером и югом Кыргызстана, интегрированного в межгосударственную сеть.

Аналитика на тему
Обзор
02.02.2024
Обзор
02.02.2024
Перспективы развития торговли и транспортного сообщения между Узбекистаном и Беларусью

Беларусь перестраивает свою внешнеторговую логистику, активно ища новые рынки сбыта, принимая решение усилить сотрудничество с странами, куда уже поставляется белорусская продукция, и ищет новые транспортные маршруты через страны Центральной Азии, в частности Узбекистан.

Статья
23.08.2022
Насколько жизнеспособны цели Германии по железнодорожным перевозкам?

Цели, поставленные для роста железнодорожных перевозок в Германии, были названы Ассоциацией немецких транспортных компаний «слишком амбициозными».