Italy's exports to China: structure and modal shift prospects

03.31.2022

The current balance of Italian exports/imports demonstrates challenges for the transport industry, and makes it relevant to consider Italy’s exports as well as prospects for its modal shift.

China is one of the European Union’s key partners. In 2020 it became the main trading partner thereof. At the same time, one of China’s key partners among the Union is Italy. In 2020, bilateral trade between these countries exceeded EUR 45 billion, of which nearly EUR 13 billion came from Italian exports to China. Similarly to other EU countries, Italy has a negative balance in trade with China: in 2020 it was about EUR 19.4 billion, and in January-October 2021 — EUR 18.5 billion (EUR 17 billion in the same period last year). The current balance of Italian exports/imports demonstrates challenges for the transport industry, and makes it relevant to consider Italy’s exports as well as prospects for its modal shift.

Due to the COVID-crisis, which hit the country hardest, Italy’s GDP fell by almost 9% in 2020. At the end of 2021, GDP is projected to recover by 6.3%. The EU Recovery Fund, of which Italy will be the main beneficiary, will also contribute to resilience of its economy. Thus, we should expect an accelerated rate of economic growth in 2022, and, consequently, of exports. The current situation could be an additional incentive to accelerate the modal shift in favor of railroads.

Specific feature of Italy is the imbalance between the economic powerhouse, Northern regions, and the predominantly agrarian South. However, it is the north of the country that is characterized by a greater availability of rail infrastructure, which is also a factor in favor of modal shift. The country’s main railway «exits» are from Verona to the north, towards Munich via Austria, and to the north-east: towards Vienna and Maribor (Slovenia). The main container terminals are located near Milan and Verona. Thus, such regions as Lombardy (the main exporter to China), Emilia-Romagna, Piedmont, and Veneto can be identified as the freight base for expanding Italy’s exports to China by rail. To a lesser extent, Tuscany and Lazio.

Italy is a country of small and medium-sized businesses actively entering foreign markets. In contrast to the models of capitalism dominated by large industrial capital, such as in Germany, the Italian model, as well as Italian exports, is represented by a significant number of medium-sized companies.

Rail transport accounts for about 14% of ground freight traffic in Italy, less than in Germany (18%), Austria (32%) and Switzerland (35%), but more than in France (10%). Italy, like other EU countries, has adopted the goal of switching 30% of freight traffic over 300 km by 2030, and 50% by 2050. The main competitor of railroads is the extensive network of ports in Italy, including the ports of Genoa, La Spezia and Naples, which attract a significant number of shippers. In addition, development of multimodal transport with access to the country’s ports (Terzo Valico) occupies a special place within the development strategy of Italian railways (FS Group) and its subsidiary Mercitalia as the country’s main freight operator.

However, advantages of speed and cost of rail delivery contribute to modal shift. According to ERAI, the number of freights from Italy to China, transported via Belarus, Russia and Kazakhstan along the Eurasian rail route in 2021, had already exceeded the previous year’s figures by November, but in absolute terms remains small, which leaves room for growth.

Finally, another reason for optimism is Italy’s interest in switching the freight flow to trans-Eurasian rails. Italy was one of the first EU countries to support China’s One Belt, One Road initiative, given the associated investments in infrastructure and transport connections between China and Europe.

This review looks in detail at Italy’s bilateral trade with China, especially exports thereto, as well as the current nomenclature of goods, including those transported by rail, and categories of goods with the potential to be switched to rail.

Source
Analytics on topic
Article
10.21.2022
Trade Relations between Russia and China: Growth Potential

China, being the world’s leading economy, is already today Russia’s largest trading partner. Complementarity of the countries’ economies, the common border, large-scale transport projects, cooperation in key sectors, participation in BRICS and SCO — these and other factors serve as major drivers for all existing and new bilateral initiatives. The potential of these relationships is to a large extent determined by their content and current trends.

Source: Roscongress
Article
06.29.2023
Big drop in German exports to China raises fears over EU’s economic powerhouse

Decrease in demand from Asia’s largest economy sparks concern over how Berlin can fix industrial malaise.

Source:

Экспорт Италии в Китай: структура и перспективы модального сдвига

31.03.2022

Текущий баланс экспорта и импорта Италии ставит вызовы для транспортной отрасли и актуализирует рассмотрение экспорта Италии и его перспектив с точки зрения модального сдвига.

Китай является одним из ключевых партнёров Европейского союза, а в 2020 году стал главным торговым партнёром объединения. В то же время одним из ключевых партнёров Китая среди стран Союза является Италия. В 2020 году объём двусторонней торговли стран превысил 45 млрд евро, из которых почти 13 млрд евро пришлось на экспорт Италии в Китай. Аналогично другим странам ЕС Италия имеет отрицательное сальдо в торговле с Китаем: в 2020 году оно составило почти 19,4 млрд евро, а за январь — октябрь 2021 года — 18,5 млрд евро (17 млрд евро в аналогичном периоде прошлого года). Текущий баланс экспорта и импорта Италии ставит вызовы для транспортной отрасли и актуализирует рассмотрение экспорта Италии и его перспектив с точки зрения модального сдвига.

На фоне коронакризиса, от которого страна пострадала в наибольшей степени среди стран ЕС, ВВП Италии в 2020 году снизился почти на 9%. По итогам 2021 года прогнозируется прирост ВВП на 6,3%. Также на восстановление страны от последствий кризиса влияние окажет Фонд восстановления ЕС, основным бенефициаром которого будет Италия. Таким образом, в 2022 году следует ожидать ускоренных темпов роста экономики и, соответственно, экспорта. Складывающаяся ситуация может стать дополнительным стимулом для ускорения модального сдвига в пользу железных дорог.

Спецификой Италии является наличие экономических диспропорций между экономическим локомотивом страны — регионами севера — и преимущественно аграрным югом страны. При этом именно для севера страны характерна большая доступность железнодорожной инфраструктуры, что также является фактором в пользу модального сдвига. Основными ж/д выходами страны являются путь от Вероны на север, в сторону Мюнхена через Австрию, а также на северо-восток: на Вену и на Марибор (Словения). Основные контейнерные терминалы расположены под Миланом и Вероной. Таким образом, в качестве грузовой базы для расширения экспорта Италии в Китай по железной дороге можно выделить такие регионы, как Ломбардия (основной экспортёр в Китай), Эмилия-Романья, Пьемонт, Венето. В меньшей степени — Тоскану и Лацио.

Италия является страной малого и среднего бизнеса, активно выходящего на внешние рынки. В отличие от экономических моделей с преобладанием крупного промышленного капитала, например в Германии, итальянская модель экономики, а также итальянский экспорт характеризуются значительным количеством компаний среднего бизнеса и их активным выходом на внешние рынки.

На ж/д транспорт приходится порядка 14% наземного грузового трафика в Италии, что меньше, чем в Германии (18%), Австрии (32%) и Швейцарии (35%), но больше, чем во Франции (10%). Италия, как и другие страны ЕС, поставила цель по переключению на ж/д 30% грузопотока на расстоянии свыше 300 км к 2030 году и 50% — к 2050 году. Основным конкурентом железных дорог является разветвлённая сеть портов в Италии, включая порты Генуи, Специи и Неаполя, к которым тяготеет значительное количество грузоотправителей.

Кроме того, в стратегии развития Железных дорог Италии (FS Group) и их дочерней структуры Mercitalia как основного грузового оператора страны особое место занимает развитие мультимодальных перевозок с выходом к портам страны (проект Terzo Valico).

Вместе с тем преимущества скорости и стоимости доставки ж/д транспортом способствуют модальному сдвигу. По данным портала ERAI, количество грузов из Италии в Китай, проследовавших по евразийскому железнодорожному маршруту через Белоруссию, Россию и Казахстан в 2021 году, уже к ноябрю превысило показатели предыдущего года, однако в абсолютном выражении остаётся небольшим, что оставляет пространство для роста.

Наконец, ещё одной причиной для оптимизма является интерес Италии к переключению товаропотока на «трансъевразийские рельсы». Италия стала одной из первых стран в ЕС, которые поддержали китайскую инициативу «Один пояс, один путь», учитывая сопряжённые с этим вложения в инфраструктуру и транспортную связанность между Китаем и Европой.

В данном обзоре подробно рассматривается двусторонняя торговля Италии с Китаем, в особенности экспорт в Китай, а также текущая номенклатура грузов, в том числе перевозимых железнодорожным транспортом, и категории товаров, имеющие потенциал для переключения на железную дорогу.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
22.12.2021
Безграничные возможности: перспективы начинающегося восстановления цепочек добавленной стоимости в европейской коммерческой авиации

Спрос на европейскую коммерческую авиацию готов восстановиться. Как должна реагировать отрасль?

Источник: McKinsey
Статья
15.12.2021
Цены на автомобильные перевозки в Европе достигли рекордных величин

Темпы роста ставок автомобильных грузовых перевозок составили в среднем 5% за 15 месяцев, что обусловлено экономическим подъемом, «узкими местами» в глобальных цепочках поставок, ростом затрат и недостатком мощностей, особенно нехваткой водителей.

Источник: Lloyd's Loading List