Cargo flows between Uzbekistan and the European Union: opportunities and constraints for rail transit

12.28.2023

On account of strategic position of Central Asian countries between Europe and Asia, the European Union is becoming ever more actively interested in a stable partnership with the countries of Central Asia, and seeks to develop relations not only with Central Asia as a whole, but also with each individual state in the region

In 1999, the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement between the EU and Uzbekistan came into force.

Over the past ten years, mutual trade between Uzbekistan and the countries of the EU has remained multi-directional, but the total amount of trade has increased many times over. Exports from the EU increased from $1.5 billion in 2012 to $3.9 billion in 2022, whilst imports from Uzbekistan increased from $301 million to $827 million over the same period.

In the first nine months of 2023, the flow of physical cargo increased in both directions, but whilst exports from Uzbekistan rose by 17%, those from the EU went up by only 9%. During 2023, the volume of imports to the EU from Uzbekistan has risen markedly from 358 thousand tons to 420 thousand tons and is likely to set a new record for the year; this will maintain Uzbekistan’s current net trade surplus with the EU.

The main commodities fueling the absolute increase in physical imports to the EU from Uzbekistan for the nine months of 2023, compared to the same period in 2022 are: potash fertilizers, nitrogen-based fertilizers, rolled sheets.

In terms of modes of transportation by which goods enter the customs territory of the EU, railway shipments dominated the cargo flows from Uzbekistan to the EU in 2023, accounting for 44% of all physical imports. By comparison, road transportation accounted for 36%, and shipment by sea for just 16%. Almost 70% of the return cargo flow from the EU to Uzbekistan is by road, with deliveries by rail accounting for only 12%. A re-orientation of road shipments to the railways would seem to be the most obvious way of developing transport sustainability, and a study of the possibilities and limitations of such a transition is an urgent recommendation.

The volume of cargo transportation by rail in the EU-to-Uzbekistan direction continues to decrease, whilst that flowing in the Uzbekistan-to-EU direction continues to increase. The shifting of cargo flows between Uzbekistan and the EU from road to rail remains a viable option.

The dynamic development of the Uzbek economy can be largely explained by the country having to «catch-up» with its neighbors and a significant increase in the workforce. At the same time, the country’s convergence in income levels with Kazakhstan — the economic powerhouse of the region — is relatively slow, and the gap remains significant.

The geostrategic position of Central Asia poses challenges to the countries of the region in respect of access to maritime transport, reducing costs associated with the crossing of state borders, and accelerating the region’s integration into the global system of transportation corridors.

In recent years, Uzbekistan has been actively taking practical measures to develop its existing multi-modal transport corridors and create new ones, in order to improve the transportation and communication links between Central Asia and Europe. This is largely due to the tasks of deepening the country’s integration into the global transport and logistics network and increasing the potential of Uzbekistan’s national transport system being provisioned in the updated version of the Uzbekistan 2030 strategy document.

Analytics on topic
Article
11.11.2022
Multimodal Transportation. Current State, Changes in Supply Geography, New Routes

In 2022, the domestic logistics industry has again experienced drastic changes. This time much more serious than during the pandemic. The start of the changes —— 24 February — is not only the beginning of the military conflict, but also of an economic one. The main challenge for the economy in 2022 was the reduction in foreign trade operations with the West, which led to a complete reformatting of relations, the search for new trade and economic partnerships and the restructuring of supply chains

Report
10.04.2023
Report
10.04.2023
Analysis and prospects for the Trans-Caspian international transport route

The Trans-Caspian International Transport Route (TITR) runs through China, Kazakhstan, the Caspian Sea, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Turkey and further through the Black Sea to Europe. The TITR is a multimodal route that involves two modes of transport: rail and sea.

Грузопоток между Узбекистаном и Европейским союзом: возможности и ограничители для железнодорожного транзита

28.12.2023

Стратегическое положение стран Центральной Азии между Европой и Азией вызывает у Европейского союза все более активную заинтересованность в стабильном партнерстве с ними — ЕС стремится развивать отношения как с Центральной Азией в целом, так и с каждым государством региона в отдельности.

В 1999 году начало свое действие Соглашение о партнерстве и сотрудничестве между ЕС и Узбекистаном.

На протяжении последних десяти лет взаимная торговля стран ЕС и Узбекистана имела разнонаправленную динамику, однако в совокупности торговый оборот демонстрирует кратный рост. Так, поставки ЕС выросли с уровня 1,5 млрд долл. в 2012 до 3,9 млрд долларов в 2022 году, а импорт из Узбекистана — с уровня 301 млн долларов до 827 млн долл.

За первые девять месяцев 2023 года физический грузопоток вырос в обоих направлениях, но поток из Узбекистана рос интенсивнее — на 17%, тогда как из ЕС — на 9%. Объем импорта ЕС из Узбекистана, увеличившийся с 358 тыс. тонн до 420 тыс. тонн, по всей видимости, поставит новый рекорд по итогам полного 2023 года, а также сохранит профицит Узбекистана в торговле с ЕС.

Основными составляющими абсолютного прироста физического импорта в ЕС из Узбекистана за девять месяцев 2023 года по сравнению с аналогичным периодом 2022 года выступают: калийные удобрения, азотные удобрения, листовой прокат.

В разрезе видов транспорта, которыми грузы поступают на таможенную территорию ЕС, в 2023 году в грузопотоке из Узбекистана в ЕС доминирует железная дорога — 44% физического импорта. На втором месте автомобильный транспорт — 36%, на третьем — морской фрахт (16%). Обратно грузопоток из ЕС в Узбекистан почти на 70% идет автомобильным транспортом, тогда как поставки по железной дороге составляют всего 12%. Переориентация этих грузов на железную дорогу представляется наиболее целесообразным направлением развития транспортной устойчивости, а изучение возможностей и ограничений такого перехода — актуальной задачей для дальнейшего исследования.

Объем перевозок по железной дороге в направлении ЕС — Узбекистан продолжает уменьшаться, а в направлении Узбекистан — ЕС — увеличиваться. Сохраняется возможность перенаправить грузопоток между Узбекистаном и ЕС с автомобильного транспорта на железнодорожные перевозки.

Динамичное развитие экономики Узбекистана во многом объясняется ее догоняющим развитием и увеличением рабочей силы. Вместе с тем сближение Узбекистана по уровню доходов с лидером Центральной Азии — Казахстаном — происходит медленно, а разрыв остается значительным.

Геостратегическое положение Центральной Азии ставит перед странами этого региона задачи по обеспечению свободного и доступного выхода к морским перевозкам, сокращению издержек, связанных с пересечением государственных границ, ускоренной интеграции территории в систему мировых транспортных коридоров.

В последние годы Узбекистан активно принимает практические меры по развитию имеющихся мультимодальных транспортных коридоров и созданию новых — в целях создания транспортно-коммуникационной взаимосвязанности ЦА и Европы.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
28.10.2022
Нормы выбросов для судов, конфликт в Европе и замедление спроса осложняют предсказуемость ставок морских перевозок: DB Schenker

Первые девять месяцев 2022 года были насыщены событиями в логистической сфере. Ставки на морские перевозки достигли беспрецедентно высокого уровня, поскольку сбои в цепочке поставок продолжали дестабилизировать отрасль. Цены наконец начали снижаться, но всё еще остаются очень высокими и далеки от уровней 2019 года. Продолжат ли они опускаться или снова пойдут в рост? Каковы будут последствия надвигающейся рецессии, конфликта в Европе и новых правил в области декарбонизации, вступающих в силу в начале следующего года?

Статья
20.02.2021
Европейская комиссия представляет новую стратегию мобильности

Европейская комиссия представила Стратегию устойчивой и умной мобильности, а также план действий, состоящий из 82 инициатив, которые будут определять работу Комиссии в транспортном секторе в течение следующих четырех лет