International Transport Corridors in Eurasian Space: Development of Latitudinal Routes
12.28.2020

Railroads play a crucial role in the Eurasian ITCs. Because of the speed and reliability of deliveries it provides, railway transportation is starting to compete with shipment by sea (advantage of speed) and air (advantage of cost). The competition with alternative routes has to be taken into account, whereas the strategy should be built around the available advantages of the existing routes and the complementary nature of others.

International Transport Corridors (ITCs) have become a token of the modernity and a proverbial phrase among the theorists and practitioners in a range of fields, from logistics to political science. Although the concept of improving transport connectivity for solving economical and political problems is by no means a novelty, it was in 2010s that ITCs have become a focus of close attention of both academic community and decision makers.

In Eurasia, ITCs have come to play a major role. Because of the continentality, which is characteristic to many countries of the region, development of ITCs has become a central growth driver and a means to effectively integrate into the global economic relations and added value chains. An important impetus to the concept and practical application of ITCs in Eurasia was given by EAEU and China that in 2015 confirmed their intent to connect Eurasian Integration and Silk Road Economic Belt. That is why ITCs are becoming the flagship of improving connectivity of Eurasian space, hubs of economical growth and «assembly» of the space into a whole.

Railroads play a crucial role in the Eurasian ITCs. Because of the speed and reliability of deliveries it provides, railway transportation is starting to compete with shipment by sea (advantage of speed) and air (advantage of cost), with attracting cargo traffic to continental routes. This development is additionally stimulated by commitment to long-term development of ITCs on the part of the Eurasian states, and by business cooperation.

Despite the explosive growth of China — Europe — China transit shipments in the recent years, which was largely unexpected by experts, preserving this momentum will require certain steps. First, the stability of corridors and benefits obtainable by national economies depend on the extent of integration between ITCs and regional (national) transport logistic infrastructure. Second, the latitudinal (East-West) and meridional (North-South) corridors have to be complementary. Third, the increasing cargo traffic will escalate competition between different routes, primarily in the western and central segments of the East-West corridor.

Strategic conceptualization of transport logistics in the Eurasian space, together with tactical decisions aimed at reduction of institutional and transactional barriers and use of the potential of digital technologies, will facilitate further stable development of East-West freight traffic. In this regard, competition with alternative routes has to be taken into account, whereas the strategy should be built around the available advantages of the existing routes and the complementary nature of some of the alternative routes.
This study is the first part of the research of the Eurasian ITCs dedicated to East-West latitudinal routes and their competitive position.

Analytics on topic
Article
05.31.2019
Development of transit potential in conditions of integration of the Republic of Kazakhstan into the world transport system
The article considers the current state of the transport infrastructure of the Republic of Kazakhstan, its integration into the international network, and also notes the further development of the transport and logistics infrastructure as a catalyst for the economy.
Article
01.26.2021
Kazakhstan: the New EU Green Gateway to East Asia

European Union is revising the TEN-T rail freight corridors under the new Sustainable and Smart Mobility Strategy, so the effective connection of the Eurasian rail routes with the EU Core Backbone Network is a key priority

Международные транспортные коридоры на евразийском пространстве: развитие широтных маршрутов
28.12.2020

Ключевая роль в евразийских транспортных коридоров принадлежит железным дорогам. Благодаря скорости и надежности доставок, железнодорожные перевозки перетягивают грузопотоки на континентальные маршруты. Однако необходимо принимать во внимание конкуренцию со стороны альтернативных маршрутов, выстраивая стратегию вокруг уже выработанных преимуществ устоявшихся маршрутов.

Международные транспортные коридоры (МТК) стали приметой современности и расхожей фразой как в среде теоретиков, так и в среде практиков целого ряда сфер — от логистов до политологов. Хотя сама концепция повышения транспортной связности для решения экономических и политических проблем не является новой, именно в 2010-х гг. МТК попали в фокус повышенного внимания как академического сообщества, так и лиц, принимающих решения.

Особую важность МТК приобрели в Евразии. Учитывая континентальность, присущую многим странам региона, развитие МТК стало важнейшим драйвером развития, способом эффективного встраивания в мирохозяйственные связи и цепочки добавленной стоимости. Важнейший импульс выстраиванию и практическому наполнению МТК в Евразии дали ЕАЭС и Китай, подтвердившие в 2015 г. стремление к сопряжению Евразийской интеграции и Экономического пояса шелкового пути. Поэтому именно МТК становятся флагманами повышения связности евразийского пространства, точками экономического роста и «сборки» самого пространства в единое целое.

Ключевая роль в евразийских МТК принадлежит железным дорогам. Благодаря скорости и надежности доставок, железнодорожные перевозки становятся конкурентом как для морских перевозок (преимущество скорости), так и для воздушных (преимущество стоимости), перетягивая грузопотоки на континентальные маршруты. Дополнительными стимулами к этому становятся приверженность долгосрочному развитию МТК со стороны государств Евразии и бизнес-кооперация.

Несмотря на неожиданный для многих экспертов и бурный рост транзитных перевозок по направлению Китай — Европа — Китай в последние годы, сохранение подобной динамики потребует ряда шагов. Во-первых, стабильность коридоров и выгоды, извлекаемые национальными экономиками, зависят от степени сопряжения МТК с региональной (национальной) транспортно-логистической инфраструктурой. Во-вторых, необходимо взаимодополнение широтных (Восток — Запад) и меридиональных (Север — Юг) коридоров. В-третьих, увеличение грузопотока будет обострять конкуренцию различных маршрутов, прежде всего на западном и центральном сегментах коридора Восток — Запад.

Стратегическое выстраивание транспортной логистики на евразийском пространстве вкупе с тактическими решениями по снижению институциональных и транзакционных барьеров, использованием потенциала цифровых технологий будут способствовать дальнейшему стабильному развитию грузоперевозок по направлению восток — запад. Однако необходимо принимать во внимание конкуренцию со стороны альтернативных маршрутов, выстраивая стратегию вокруг как уже выработанных преимуществ устоявшихся маршрутов, так и взаимодополняющего характера некоторых альтернативных маршрутов.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
19.05.2020
Стратегические меры стран ЕАЭС
В данной статье приведена наиболее актуальная хронология инициатив и мер, принимаемых Правительством РФ и уполномоченными органами ЕЭК для предупреждения негативных последствий пандемии и защиты экономик государств — членов ЕАЭС. Так, комиссия ЕАЭС в режиме реального времени стремится содействовать устранению препятствий во взаимной торговле и сотрудничестве.
Обзор
14.08.2020
Обзор
14.08.2020
Контейнерные железнодорожные перевозки на евразийском пространстве в первом полугодии 2020 г.

Пандемия негативно повлияла на функционирование цепочек поставок из-за сбоев в транспортной инфраструктуре. Железнодорожный транспорт проявил себя надёжным способом поставок: объём контейнерных перевозок в сообщении Китай — Европа — Китай в 2020 г. резко увеличился на 57,6% по сравнению с первым полугодием 2019 г.