Infrastructure in Eurasia. May 2024

05.31.2024

Investment projects, cooperation, trends and forecasts of industry infrastructure in the Eurasian region

Investments and projects

The Russian government has approved the third phase of the development of the Baikal-Amur Mainline (BAM) and Trans-Siberian Railway (TSR) until 2035. This project aims to increase the capacity of the eastern railway network and expand supply routes through Far Eastern ports. According to the plan, by 2030 the throughput capacity will reach 210 million tonnes, and by 2032 it will reach 270 million tonnes.

The European Union has allocated €6 million (82 billion soums) to Uzbekistan for agricultural reform. This grant will support the implementation of the country’s National Strategy for Food Security and Healthy Nutrition. The agreement between Uzbekistan and the EU envisages a total allocation of €20 million for the agricultural development strategy for 2020-2030. In addition to this assistance, Uzbekistan expects to receive additional grant funds this year and next as part of this initiative.

Russia will actively participate in the construction of the Trans-Afghan railway. The roads (1520 mm — Russian standard) are an integral part of the international transport corridor «Belarus-Russia-Kazakhstan-Uzbekistan-Afghanistan-Pakistan» (BRKUAP — BRKUAP). Russia is willing to join the consortium as a financial partner and assist in the development of a feasibility study for the project.

Economic policy and cooperation

Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan and Uzbekistan are planning to lay a cable along the bottom of the Caspian Sea in order to unite their energy systems. At the Tashkent International Investment Forum, a memorandum of cooperation was signed regarding the interconnection between the countries’ energy systems.

Kazakhstan also plans to build an oil pipeline along the bottom of the Caspian Sea, and KazMunaiGas National Company has formed a team of experts to analyze the situation and develop recommendations for the technical, commercial, and legal aspects of the project, in collaboration with international oil companies. However, it will also be necessary to coordinate with other coastal states, such as Russia, Turkmenistan, and Iran.

The US Senate has approved a ban on the import of Russian-enriched uranium until 2040, which accounts for almost 25% of the uranium used at American nuclear power plants, bringing in about $1 billion for Moscow each year.

Trends and forecasts

The Ministry of Energy of Kazakhstan, together with QazaqGaz, has formed a forecast gas balance until 2030. Crude gas production is expected to grow 1.5 times, from 60.4 billion cubic meters. m in 2024 to 90.7 billion cubic meters in 2030.

In order to eliminate gas shortages in the country, production at the Rozhkovskoye, Yuzhny Aksai and Alabai fields was launched in 2023. In the medium term, several more gas projects are expected to be launched — Urikhtau Tsentralny, Zapadnaya Prorva, and Kalamkas.

New projects will result in an increase in production of about 4 billion cubic meters by 2030.

The original is available in Russian

Analytics on topic
Article
10.31.2023
Review of maritime transport 2023

Shipping continues to navigate COVID-19 post-pandemic trends, the legacies of the 2021–2022 crunch in global supply chains, a softening in the container shipping market and shifts in shipping and trading patterns arising from the conflict in Ukraine.

Article
01.26.2024
Container rates soar on concerns of prolonged Red Sea disruption

Container shipping rates for key global trade routes have soared this week, with U.S. and UK air strikes on Yemen stirring fears of a prolonged disruption to global trade in Red Sea, one of the world’s busiest routes.

Инфраструктура Евразии. Май 2024

31.05.2024

Инвестиционные проекты, сотрудничество, тренды и прогнозы отраслевой инфраструктуры в Евразийском регионе

Инвестиции и проекты

Правительство России утвердило третий этап развития БАМа и Транссиба до 2035 г. Проект увеличит пропускную способность Восточного полигона железных дорог и расширит поставки через дальневосточные порты. К 2030 г. пропускная способность должна достичь 210 млн т, а к концу 2032 г. — 270 млн т.

ЕС выделил Узбекистану 6 млн евро (82 млрд сумов) на проведение сельскохозяйственных реформ. Выделение гранта поддержит внедрение Национальной стратегии продовольственной безопасности и здорового питания. Соглашение между Правительством Узбекистана и ЕС предусматривает выделение общей суммы в 20 млн евро для реализации Стратегии развития сельского хозяйства на 2020−2030 гг. В рамках этой помощи ожидается поступление дополнительных грантовых средств в этом и следующем году.

Россия примет активное участие в строительстве Трансафганской железной дороги (с шириной колеи 1520 мм — российский стандарт) как составной части МТК «Беларусь — Россия — Казахстан — Узбекистан — Афганистан — Пакистан» (БРКУАП — BRKUAP). Россия готова присоединиться к консорциуму и выступить в роли финансового партнера, а также оказать помощь в разработке ТЭО проекта.

Экономическая политика и сотрудничество

Казахстан, Азербайджан и Узбекистан планируют проложить кабель по дну Каспийского моря, чтобы объединить свои энергосистемы. В рамках Ташкентского международного инвестиционного форума подписан Меморандум о сотрудничестве по межсистемному соединению энергетических систем стран.

Казахстан планирует построить нефтепровод по дну Каспия. В АО «Национальная компания «КазМунайГаз» совместно с международными нефтяными компаниями сформирована проектная команда, которая будет анализировать существующую ситуацию и разработает рекомендации, охватывающие технические, коммерческие и юридические аспекты проекта. Тем не менее необходимо будет согласование с другими прибрежными государствами — Россией, Туркменистаном, Ираном и Азербайджаном.

Сенат США одобрил запрет на импорт российского обогащенного урана до конца 2040 г. Сейчас на долю России приходится почти четверть обогащенного урана, используемого в качестве топлива на американских АЭС. Поставки приносят Москве около 1 млрд долл. в год.

Тренды и прогнозы

Министерство энергетики Казахстана совместно с QazaqGaz сформировали прогнозный баланс газа до 2030 г. Ожидается, что добыча сырого газа вырастет в 1,5 раза, с 60,4 млрд куб. м в 2024 г. до 90,7 млрд куб. м в 2030 г.

Для исключения дефицита газа в стране в 2023 г. дан старт по добыче на месторождениях Рожковское, Южный Аксай и Анабай. В среднесрочной перспективе ожидается запуск еще нескольких газовых проектов — «Урихтау Центральный», «Западная Прорва», «Каламкас».

Новые проекты к 2030 г. дадут прирост добычи в размере около 4 млрд куб. м.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
11.11.2022
Мультимодальные перевозки. Текущее состояние, изменение географии поставок, новые маршруты

В 2022 году отечественная логистическая сфера снова испытала кардинальные изменения. На этот раз гораздо серьезнее, чем за период пандемии. Старт изменений — 24 февраля — начало не только военного, но и экономического конфликта. Главным вызовом для экономики в 2022 году явилось сокращение внешнеторговых операций с Западом, которое привело к полному переформатированию связей, поиску новых торгово-экономических партнерств и перестроению логистических цепочек.

Обзор
21.09.2020
Обзор
21.09.2020
Коронавирус и его последствия: логистика в кризисном режиме

Кризис наглядно показал жизненную важность логистической индустрии. При этом его воздействие на логистические компании различается в зависимости от типов перевозимых товаров и обслуживаемых отраслей