Diversification of EU exports towards the US and its impact on exports to China

11.15.2022

The European Union, China and the United States play the largest role in international trade, in terms of supplying products and as markets, and their trade relations largely determine the configuration of cargo flows in the international transport system.

The intensity of trade exchange between these three economic poles is determined by many factors — from markets to infrastructure, such as transport and logistics potential and the capacity of existing routes. These links are grounded in the search for an optimal balance of geographic, political and economic factors. In addition, their long-term institutional interaction, supported by a wide range of bilateral international agreements, is also decisive. Characteristically, the two most sweeping treaties for interaction, namely the Comprehensive Investment Agreement (between the EU and China) and the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (between the EU and the USA), reached their final stages of development, but at the last stage they never entered into force.

We can speak, at present, about the significant intensity of trade and economic relations between Europe and its partners in the West and the Far East. In 2021, the total exports of EU countries to the United States amounted to almost 400 billion euros, while exports to China totaled 223.4 billion euros. By weight, the exports measured 73.8 million tons and 51.6 million tons, respectively.

The EU’s trade with each of these partners has specific features. EU exports to the US and China have a different structure. The key components of trade with the United States are fuel and energy (35% of the volume) and agriculture (11%). The key components in trade cooperation with China are forestry industry products (39%), agriculture, and the food industry (25%).

At the same time, in terms of value, products with a high degree of processing are in the lead (for example, pharmaceutical products, vehicles and components, electronics, etc.). It should also be noted that there are country differences in the volume of exports to the US and China.

Despite accounting for a significant proportion of the physical traffic of EU exports to the United States, mineral fuels and raw materials account for no more than 3% of all exports in terms of value. This is due to high-value goods in the range of exports, primarily from the chemical and engineering industries. European medicines, medical products, cars and auto parts are much more expensive than raw materials and oil products per unit weight. EU exports to China are also replete with highly processed goods, which explains the dominance in the structure of value exports of engineering industry products: cars and auto parts, electronics, aircraft, and various types of equipment. The existing proportions of trade flows are reflected in the structures of exports by mode of transport, by which goods leave the EU countries.

Eurostat data indicate that the bulk of the cargo flow is transported by sea, while air transit accounts for the lion’s share of exports in terms of cost and processing. It is noteworthy that the structure of EU exports to the US and China by mode of transport, both in physical and value terms, are quite similar: in physical terms, the share of maritime transport in exports to both the US and China is about 95%, and in value terms, 52%. The share of land transport is small in both cases: in value terms, rail accounts for no more than 6% of EU exports to China, and road transport accounts for 2%. In physical terms, the figures are 2% and 1%, respectively. The presence of insignificant volumes of overland exports from the EU to the USA can be explained by the fact that the statistics reflect only the first mode of transport in the supply chain; that is, the mode by which the goods leave the territory of the exporting EU country.

Thus, this review is intended to reveal the nature of European exports and uncover what impact the growing volume of EU exports to the US have had on EU exports to China, and whether there is competition between these destinations for European exports.

Analytics on topic
Report
10.18.2021
Report
10.18.2021
Benelux countries’ exports to China in 2020: export structure and prospects for modal shift to rail

At the end of 2020, the trade turnover between the Benelux countries and China amounted to about USD 98 billion, of which USD 26.09 billion accounted for exports to China and USD 71.86 billion - for import.

Article
09.25.2020
Promoting Sustainable Mobility: Commission Proposes 2021 To Be the European Year of Rail

The EU Commission has proposed to make 2021 the European Year of Rail, to support the delivery of its European Green Deal objectives in the transport field. A series of events, campaigns and initiatives in 2021 will promote rail as a sustainable, innovative and safe mode of transport

Диверсификация экспорта ЕС в сторону США и её влияние на экспорт в Китай

15.11.2022

Европейский союз, Китай и США являются тремя крупнейшими участниками международной торговли — поставщиками продукции и рынками сбыта, и их торговые взаимоотношения во многом определяют конфигурацию грузопотоков в международной транспортной системе.

Интенсивность торгового обмена между этими тремя экономическими полюсами определяется множеством факторов — от рыночных до инфраструктурных, таких как транспортно-логистический потенциал и пропускная способность существующих маршрутов. Данные связи основаны на оптимальном соотношении географических, политических и экономических факторов. Кроме того, определяющим является и долгое институциональное взаимодействие, подкреплённое широкой базой двусторонних международных соглашений. Характерно, что две формы взаимодействия, а именно Всеобъемлющее соглашение об инвестициях (между ЕС и Китаем) и Трансатлантическое торговое и инвестиционное партнёрство (между ЕС и США), достигали финальных стадий проработки, однако на последнем этапе так и не вступили в силу.

На данный момент можно говорить о значительной интенсивности торгово-экономических связей Европы в западном и восточном направлениях. За 2021 год совокупный экспорт стран ЕС в США составил почти 400 млрд евро, тогда как в Китай — 223,4 млрд евро. В физическом выражении эти объёмы составляют 73,8 и 51,6 млн тонн соответственно.

Существует определённая специфика торговли по обоим направлениям. Экспорт ЕС в США и Китай имеет различную структуру. Так, флагманами торговли с США являются топливно-энергетический комплекс (35% от объёма) и сельское хозяйство (11%), а во взаимодействии с Китаем — продукция лесной промышленности (39%), сельского хозяйства и пищевой промышленности (25%).

При этом в стоимостном разрезе лидирует продукция высокой степени обработки (например, фармацевтическая продукция, автотранспорт и компоненты, электроника и др.). Следует отметить и страновые различия в объёмах экспорта в американском и китайском направлениях.

Значительная часть физического грузопотока ЕС в США — минеральное топливо и сырьё — в стоимостном выражении составляет не более 3% всего экспорта. Это обусловлено наличием в экспорте товаров высокого уровня передела, в первую очередь химической и машиностроительной отраслей. Европейские лекарства, медицинские изделия, автомобили, автозапчасти по своей стоимости значительно превосходят сырьё и нефтепродукты на единицу веса. Экспорт ЕС в Китай также насыщен товарами высокой степени переработки, что объясняет доминирование в структуре стоимостного экспорта продукции машиностроительной отрасли: автомобили и автозапчасти, электроника, авиатехника, различные виды оборудования.

Сложившиеся пропорции товаропотоков находят своё отражение в структурах экспорта по видам транспорта, которым товары покидают страны ЕС.

Данные Eurostat свидетельствуют о том, что основная масса грузового потока транспортируется морем, тогда как наиболее ёмкая по стоимости и переработке — воздухом. Примечательно, что структуры экспорта ЕС в США и в Китай по видам транспорта как в физическом, так и в стоимостном выражении достаточно похожи: в физическом выражении доли морского транспорта в экспорте как в США, так и в Китай составляют порядка 95%, а в стоимостном — 52%. Доля сухопутного транспорта невелика в обоих направлениях: в стоимостном выражении на железную дорогу приходится не более 6% экспорта ЕС в Китай, а на автотранспорт — 2%, в физическом выражении показатели составляют 2% и 1% соответственно. Наличие незначительных объёмов сухопутного экспорта из ЕС в США объясняется тем, что в статистике отражается только первый в цепочке поставки вид транспорта, то есть вид, которым товар покинул территорию экспортирующей страны ЕС.

Таким образом, данный обзор призван раскрыть характер европейского экспорта и ответить на вопрос о том, какое влияние растущие объёмы экспорта ЕС в США оказывают на экспорт ЕС в Китай, существует ли конкуренция между этими направлениями за европейский экспорт.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
28.10.2022
Китай: жизненно важный рынок для европейских компаний

Согласно опросу, опубликованному Комитетом содействия развитию международной торговли (CCPIT), Китай остается ключевым рынком для европейских компаний, поскольку его экономическая устойчивость и большой внутренний рынок жизненно важны для того, чтобы они оставались конкурентоспособными на глобальном уровне.

Источник: China Daily
Статья
15.09.2022
Трансказахстанский транзит из Китая растет

Объем обработки грузов на Dostyk TransTerminal вырос до 129 тыс. TEU

Источник: Издательский дом Коммерсантъ