The Eurasian Railway Route: Prospects for Exports from Russia to China

12.29.2022

In 2022, the Russian transport administration faces unprecedented logistics challenges: massive trade restructuring prompted by restrictive sanctions has necessitated urgent operational decisions to combine different routes through friendly and neutral countries. The biggest changes are expected in cargo turnover with Russia’s largest trading partners — the European Union and China

In the context of types of large transport, the sanctions have hit air and road traffic. Railway and maritime transport are less affected; however, significant changes in the natural resources market: fluctuations in the ruble exchange rate, the withdrawal of large Western carriers, and problems with insurance — have had a significant impact on the cost of transport. While maintaining the structure of the turnover of Russia’s foreign trade, there is a significant change in its geography. Products from Western countries are gradually being replaced by goods from Asia. Thus, there is a high growth in the import of pharmaceutical products and pharmaceutical raw materials from India and China, which are major global manufacturers and exporters of products. Significant changes are being observed in the automotive components market: amid the curtailment of original spare parts being sold in Russia, the law on parallel imports opens up new opportunities for products from Turkey, Southern Europe, the United Arab Emirates, and Vietnam.

Complex routes for the delivery of goods through third countries expand transport diversity, delivery times, and the cost of the corresponding logistics services and transaction resources in general. This significant increase in the transport and logistics component of export and import costs must be leveled by all available means — both at the level of economic agents and on the scale of the country’s economy. In this regard, the integrated optimization of logistics in the Greater Eurasian space has gained new relevance.

Support for the reorientation of export-import flows is provided by the reduction of economic ties with Europe and the state’s ‘pivot to the East’ development policy. The need to diversify corridors has led to an increase in investment in infrastructure projects related to increasing transport links with China, as well as with India (North-South). According to the plan of the Ministry of Transport of the Russian Federation, the total volume of foreign investments in the border rail infrastructure of Kazakhstan, Mongolia and China could reach up to 30.8 billion US dollars by 2030.

Analytics on topic
Article
06.26.2020
China–EU shippers turn to rail after ocean capacity cuts
Exporters of Chinese goods to Europe are scrambling to shift cargo shipments from ocean to the China—Europe rail land bridge, as ship slots become scarcer due to capacity cancelations from container lines in response to the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).
Source: JOC.com
Article
10.29.2021
The Current Status and Challenges of China Railway Express (CRE) as a Key Sustainability Policy Component of the Belt and Road Initiative
The research is devoted to the analysis of the current development of Chinese railway express trains, problems, and the search for their solutions.

Евразийский ж/д маршрут: перспективы расширения экспорта из России в Китай

29.12.2022

В 2022 году российская транспортная отрасль столкнулась с беспрецедентными вызовами в логистике: масштабная торговая перестройка в условиях санкционных ограничений потребовала срочных оперативных решений по созданию новых транспортных путей через дружественные и нейтральные страны. Наибольшие изменения ожидаются в грузообороте с крупнейшими торговыми партнёрами России — Евросоюзом и Китаем.

В разрезе видов транспорта наибольший санкционный удар пришёлся на авиа- и автосообщение. Железнодорожный и морской транспорт затронуты в меньшей степени, однако на рынках происходят существенные трансформации — скачки курса рубля, уход крупных западных перевозчиков, проблемы со страховками оказали своё влияние на стоимость транспортировки. При сохранении товарной структуры грузооборота внешней торговли России происходит существенное изменение её географии. Продукцию западных стран постепенно замещают товары из Азии. Так, отмечается рост импорта фармацевтических товаров и фармсырья из Индии и Китая, крупных мировых производителей и экспортёров данной продукции. Существенные изменения происходят на рынке автомобильных комплектующих: на фоне сворачивания программ поставок оригинальных запчастей в Россию закон о параллельном импорте открывает новые каналы поставок продукции из Турции, Южной Кореи, ОАЭ, Вьетнама.

Сложные маршруты доставки товаров через третьи страны увеличивают транспортное расстояние, сроки поставок, стоимость сопутствующих логистических услуг и транзакционные издержки в целом. Существенный рост транспортно-логистической составляющей затрат на экспорт и импорт необходимо нивелировать любыми доступными способами — как на уровне экономических агентов, так и в масштабах экономики страны. В этой связи комплексная оптимизация логистики на Большом евразийском пространстве обретает новую актуальность.

Поддержку переориентации экспортно-импортных потоков оказывает сокращение экономических связей с Европой и политика государства по развороту на Восток. Необходимость диверсификации транспортных коридоров ведёт к увеличению инвестиций государства в инфраструктурные проекты, нацеленные на повышение транспортной связанности с Китаем, а также с Индией («Север — Юг»). Согласно планам Министерства транспорта РФ, общий объём инвестиций в пограничную железнодорожную инфраструктуру в Казахстане, Монголии и Китае может составить до 30,8 млрд долл. до 2030 года.

Аналитика на тему
Обзор
12.06.2020
Обзор
12.06.2020
Обзор экономики Франции

Текущая конъюнктура рынка грузовых железнодорожных перевозок Франции и прогнозные значения основных макроэкономических показателей свидетельствуют об оживлении экономической активности.

Статья
11.07.2019
Как превратить выбросы СО2 в KPI для грузоперевозок
При сохранении прежних темпов увеличения спроса на грузоперевозки, объём выбросов СО2 может достичь высоких значений. Для предотвращения этого был разработан метод, позволяющий участникам цепочки поставок превратить выбросы СО2 в KPI.