Rail container transportation in the Eurasian space in 2021

03.18.2022

What results did Eurasian transportation show in a difficult 2021?

Eurasian rail container freight traffic continued to grow steadily in 2021, outperforming target indicators. Over the past year, 693K TEUs travelled along the Eurasian railway route, which is 27% more than the figure for 2020.

In an environment of high rate volatility and carrying capacity constraints on alternative modes of transport, railways are demonstrating excellent service and high levels of reliability to the market. Rail transport plays a strategic role as a ‘land bridge’ between Europe and Asia, offering exactly what shippers need: regular shipments, minimal transit times and stable prices.

The diversification of freight delivery routes was another area of focus in 2021, with improvements to railway logistics through the ports and terminals of Kaliningrad Region at the centre of attention. By the end of 2021, traffic volumes on this route had increased by 188.8% to 133,300 TEUs. Transportation along this route highlights the advantages of a multimodal approach to transporting freight: first by rail and then by sea to neighbouring countries, using the common CIM/SMGS consignment note.

In 2021, rail once again increased its share of trade flows between China and the EU. The Eurasian railway route transported goods worth a total of USD 38.8 billion, accounting for 5.5% of total trade for the year between China and Europe and showing an increase of 23.3% on 2020. The freight base for the transported goods largely comprised mechanical equipment and appliances, electrical devices and communications equipment, vehicles and spare parts, various devices and medical equipment, furniture and lighting equipment, clothing, plastics and ferrous metal products.

At the same time, the past year was marked by the rapid development of other inland rail transportation routes. Based on container flow statistics, the Russian border crossing of Naushki, located on the border between Russia and Mongolia, was immediately behind the Kazakh border crossings with 71,1K TEUs (a +265% increase compared to the previous year). The Zabaikalsk border crossing between Russia and China accounted for 46K TEUs (+69%) and border crossings in Primorsky Territory saw 20,9K TEUs (+2,025%) in traffic.

The astonishing growth in volumes has been marked by a number of infrastructure constraints. The past year saw several failures even in well-established rail transit settings, primarily due to restrictions on segments adjacent to the Eurasian route. Nevertheless, rail has generally managed to cope with the higher volumes, even taking into account the slight increase in average travel times, to as much as seven days on the 1,520 mm track gauge infrastructure.

The most problematic area for balancing the flow of goods is transportation from Europe to China. Nevertheless, the share of loaded containers in Europe—China traffic in 2021 was 88.1%, exceeding the 2020 figure (82.7%). This is well above the 2018 figure of 59.1%. This trend indicates the effectiveness of work done to attract European shippers and improve the efficiency of the route. Since 2019, there has been a tendency for an almost total dominance of loaded containers in China—Europe traffic. In 2018, the share of loaded containers in freight flows from China to Europe was 75.2%. Over the past three years it has not fallen below 98.5%, and last year reached 99.4%.

The current state of affairs prioritizes the stress resistance of transportation, and this has been the main focus of stakeholders over the past year. In August, the heads of the Belarusian, Kazakh and Russian railways signed a memorandum on the development of Eurasian rail traffic in the presence of the prime ministers of the respective countries, confirming the commitment of the states to the consistent and comprehensive development of Eurasia’s railway infrastructure.

The past year once again underlined the inherent advantage of rail freight transportation — its environmental performance — especially in the context of the growing decarbonization agenda and the EU and China’s green policies. The СО2 Counter on the ERAI website clearly demonstrates this advantage. Documenting emissions reductions achieved through the use of rail transportation is a priority at present.

Rail retained its key advantages of reliability, speed, and transportation costs in the difficult operating conditions of 2021 and against the backdrop of ever-increasing infrastructure load and international political turbulence. At the same time, the Eurasian railway route has shown its ability to operate in the face of growing uncertainty and pressure on infrastructure, operators and service providers alike.

Analytics on topic
Article
06.08.2021
European Rail Associations Call for European Year of Rail Extension

CER, EIM, and Unife want to extend the initiative until the end of 2022 due to disruption caused by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Report
11.03.2020
Report
11.03.2020
Global Freight Flows After COVID-19: What’s Next?

COVID-19 will likely affect trade more profoundly than any other recent crisis. The extent of the disruption will vary by commodity, trade lane, and mode of transport, and it will be steered by local differences in the crisis’s severity

Контейнерные железнодорожные перевозки на евразийском пространстве в 2021 году

18.03.2022

Какие результаты показали евразийские перевозки в непростом 2021 году?

Евразийские ж/д контейнерные грузоперевозки продолжили стабильный рост в 2021 году с опережением тех целей, которые были поставлены ранее. За прошедший год по евразийскому ж/д маршруту проследовало 693 тыс. ДФЭ, что на 27% превышает показатель 2020 года.

На фоне высокой волатильности ставок и ограничений в провозных мощностях на альтернативных видах транспорта железные дороги демонстрируют рынку отличный сервис и высокую надежность. Железнодорожный транспорт играет стратегическую роль «сухопутного моста» между Европой и Азией, предлагая именно то, что требуется грузоотправителям — регулярность отправок, кратчайшие сроки и стабильные цены.

Важное место в 2021 году было отведено диверсификации путей доставки грузов. В фокусе внимания оказалась организация ж/д логистики через порты и терминалы Калининградской области. По итогам 2021 года объемы перевозок по этому направлению возросли на 188,8% — до 133,3 тыс. ДФЭ. Движение по этому пути призвано подчеркнуть преимущества мультимодального способа перевозки грузов: по железной дороге и далее морем в близлежащие страны с применением унифицированной накладной ЦИМ/СМГС.

В 2021 году железная дорога вновь нарастила свою долю в товаропотоке между Китаем и ЕС. По евразийскому ж/д маршруту было перевезено товаров на общую сумму 38,8 млрд долл. США, что составляет 5,5% от общего годового товарооборота между Китаем и Европой. Прирост к 2020 году составил 23,3%. Основу перевозимой номенклатуры грузов составили: механическое оборудование и техника, электрические устройства и аппаратура связи, автотехника и запчасти, различные приборы и медицинская техника, мебель и осветительная техника, одежда, пластмассы, изделия из черных металлов.

Вместе с тем прошедший год был отмечен бурным развитием других маршрутов континентальных ж/д грузоперевозок. По статистике контейнеропотоков, сразу за казахстанскими погранпереходами следует российский переход Наушки, расположенный на границе России и Монголии, — 71,1 тыс. ДФЭ (+265% прироста к предыдущему году), погранпереход Забайкальск между Россией и Китаем — 46 тыс. ДФЭ (+69%) и погранпереходы Приморского края — 20,9 тыс. ДФЭ (+2025%).

Рост объемов перевозки оказался впечатляющим, даже несмотря на ограничения инфраструктуры вдоль пути следования. Прошедший год был отмечен несколькими сбоями даже в хорошо налаженном ж/д транзите — прежде всего из-за ограничений на сопредельных с евразийским маршрутом сегментах. Тем не менее железная дорога в целом справилась с возросшими объемами, даже несмотря на некоторое увеличение среднего времени в пути — до семи дней по инфраструктуре колеи 1520 мм.

Наиболее проблемным с точки зрения балансировки является грузопоток из Европы в Китай. Тем не менее в 2021 году в сообщении Европа — Китай доля груженых контейнеров составила 88,1%, превысив показатель 2020 года (82,7%). При этом в 2018 году этот показатель составлял лишь 59,1%. Данная тенденция говорит об эффективной работе по привлечению европейских грузоотправителей и повышению эффективности работы маршрута.

В сообщении Китай — Европа с 2019 года сохраняется тренд на почти абсолютное преобладание груженых контейнеров. В 2018 году доля груженых контейнеров в грузопотоке из Китая в Европу составляла 75,2%. На протяжении последних трех лет она не опускается ниже 98,5%, а в прошедшем году достигла значения 99,4%.

Текущая конъюнктура ставит во главу угла стрессоустойчивость (resilience) перевозок, и именно на это были направлены основные усилия стейкхолдеров в прошедшем году. В августе главы Белорусской, Казахстанской и Российской железных дорог в присутствии премьер-министров стран подписали меморандум о развитии евразийских ж/д транзитных перевозок, подтвердивший приверженность государств последовательному и целостному развитию железнодорожной инфраструктуры Евразии.

Прошедший год в очередной раз подчеркнул неотъемлемое преимущество ж/д грузоперевозок — их экологичность, особенно в контексте нарастающей повестки декарбонизации и «зеленых» политик ЕС и Китая. Существующий Счетчик CO2 на портале ERAI наглядно подчеркивает это преимущество. На повестке дня — документальное подтверждение сокращения выбросов, достигаемого благодаря выбору железнодорожной перевозки.

В сложных условиях работы в 2021 году, на фоне всевозрастающей загрузки инфраструктуры и международной политической турбулентности, железная дорога сохранила ключевые преимущества — надежность работы, скорость, стоимость перевозки. Вместе с тем евразийский ж/д маршрут показал способность к работе в условиях роста неопределенности и давления как на инфраструктуру, так и на операторов и поставщиков сервисов.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
06.12.2021
Упор на цифру, баланс, доступность и регионы: какой будет транспортная стратегия – 2035?

Участники Госсовета под руководством Владимира Путина обсудили проект транспортной стратегии России до 2035 года. Получится ли достигнуть амбициозных целей в условиях новых рисков и вызовов?

Источник: Информационное агентство «РЖД Партнер»
Статья
29.10.2021
Неустойчивая стратегия ЕС в отношении Китая

Может ли ЕС продолжать балансировать свои отношения с Китаем и США в контексте усиления соперничества между сверхдержавами?