Prospects of two major transport projects in Central Asia

03.26.2024

The Central Asian countries do not have direct access to international seaports, so the development of new railways is of particular significance

At the second meeting of the CIS Transport Business Dialogue, which was held in late January, experts stated that Russia plans to play a significant role in the development of two important transport corridors, which are linked directly to the international North—South transport corridor. These corridors are:

1. The Multimodal Route «Kabul Corridor» (Termez — Naibabad — Logar — Kharlachi) — a route from Uzbekistan through the capital of Afghanistan, providing access to Pakistan.

2. The China — Kyrgyzstan — Uzbekistan Corridor (CKU) (Kashgar — Torugart — Arpa — Makmal — Jalalabad) — another route that runs from China through Kyrgyzstan to Uzbekistan.

Both of these corridors currently operate in a multimodal mode, which means that they combine road and rail transportation. However, with further railway construction projects being implemented on these routes, cargo flows between the countries involved could increase significantly, according to experts.

The main reason for progress will be a reduction in travel time, delivery times, and, most importantly, the cost of transporting goods between countries in North-Eastern Europe, Russia, China, and South and Southeast Asia, as well as between China and Southern Europe via Central Asia.

Both the Kabul Corridor and the CKU route cross the territory of Uzbekistan. This will in the future help to increase the country’s export of transport and logistics services. New projects to develop railway and road lines will compensate for the lack of mainline infrastructure in Central Asia, which other countries are also interested in.

When will the CKU railway be built?

At one point, this projected railroad route was famously referred to as the overland Suez Canal, as it would link East and West in the quickest and most lucrative way possible. Specifically, the journey from China to southern Europe will be shortened by 900 kilometers, and goods will arrive in as little as one week. Right now, the average time it takes for container cargo to travel from China to Europe via sea is between 15 and 30 days.

The new railroad route will begin in Chinese Kashgar. Then, the path will run through the difficult Torugart Pass with access via Kyrgyz Arpa, Makmal, and Jalalabad to the Uzbekistan station Savai.

According to the National Investment Agency of the Republic of Kyrgyzstan, the construction of a Kyrgyzstan—China—Uzbekistan rail link is expected to start in 2024. According to Uzbekistan’s Ministry of Investment and Trade, the parties currently have preliminarily agreed upon a 486-mile railroad route.

The «Kabul Corridor»

The Termez—Naibabad—Logar—Kharlachi railway project, which will provide access to the Pakistani seaports of Karachi and Kasmir, will connect the entire Eurasian railway system to the South Asian system through Afghanistan and help increase the transit potential of Central Asia. This project will also attract cargo flows and revive the historical role of this region as the crossroads of the Great Silk Road.

By creating a unified railway infrastructure between the EU, the CIS, China, and countries in South and Southeast Asia (such as Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh), the project will allow for speedy transportation of goods along a new North—South corridor, connecting the largest markets and creating unique opportunities for Afghanistan. Large transit flows will be created, up to 20 million tons per year by 2030.

Analytics on topic
Report
12.28.2023
Report
12.28.2023
Cargo flows between Uzbekistan and the European Union: opportunities and constraints for rail transit

On account of strategic position of Central Asian countries between Europe and Asia, the European Union is becoming ever more actively interested in a stable partnership with the countries of Central Asia, and seeks to develop relations not only with Central Asia as a whole, but also with each individual state in the region

Article
09.30.2022
Iran's policy in Central Asia is gaining momentum amid the Russian-Ukrainian confrontation

Against the background of international turbulence, Iran has seen a sudden rise in its importance as a transit and transport hub connecting China and Central Asia to Europe, and also Russia with India, along the International North—South Transport Corridor (INSTC).

Перспективы двух крупных транспортных проектов в Центральной Азии

26.03.2024

Государства Центральной Азии не имеют прямого выхода к международным морским портам, поэтому развитие новых железнодорожных маршрутов обретает особое значение

На состоявшемся в конце января втором заседании транспортного бизнес-диалога стран СНГ эксперты высказались о том, что Россия планирует участвовать в развитии двух перспективных транспортных коридоров, которые непосредственно сопряжены с международным транспортным коридором «Север-Юг».

Речь идет о мультимодальном направлении «Кабульский коридор» (Термез — Найбабад — Логар — Харлачи), пролегающем из Узбекистана через афганскую столицу с выходом на Пакистан, и о коридоре «Китай — Кыргызстан — Узбекистан» (Кашгар — Торугарт — Арпа — Макмал — Джалалабад).

В настоящее время оба коридора функционируют в мультимодальном формате, т.е. процесс имеет характер смешанных перевозок (авто- и железнодорожный транспорт). Однако, с реализацией проектов по строительству железных дорог на данных участках грузооборот между странами-участницами может существенно возрасти, считают эксперты.

Основной причиной прогресса послужит сокращение времени в пути, сроков доставки и, главное, стоимости транспортировки грузов между странами Северо-Восточной Европы, России, Китаем и Южной, Юго-Восточной Азии, а также между Китаем и Южной Европой через Центральную Азию.

И «Кабульский коридор», и «Китай — Кыргызстан — Узбекистан» пересекают территорию Узбекистана, что в перспективе послужит увеличению экспорта транспортно-логистических услуг страны. Новые проекты развития железнодорожных и автодорожных линий компенсируют дефицит магистральной инфраструктуры в ЦА, что представляет интерес и для других стран.

Когда начнется строительство коридора «Китай — Кыргызстан — Узбекистан»?

В свое время данный проектируемый железнодорожный маршрут громко называли сухопутным Суэцким каналом, так как он позволит связать Восток и Запад кратчайшим и выгодным путем. В частности, маршрут из КНР в Южную Европу сократится на 900 км, а сроки доставок грузов — до одной недели. В настоящее время средний срок доставки контейнерных грузов из Китая в Европу морским транспортом составляет от 15 до 30 дней.

Новый железнодорожный маршрут будет начинаться в китайском Кашгаре, далее путь пролегает через труднопроходимый Торугартский перевал с выходом через кыргызские Арпу, Макмал и Джалалабад на узбекскую станцию Савай.

Согласно данным Нацагентства по инвестициям республики Кыргызстан, в 2024 году ожидается начало строительства железной дороги Кыргызстан — Китай — Узбекистан, а по информации Министерства инвестиций, промышленности и торговли Узбекистана, в настоящее время стороны предварительно согласовали 486-километровый железнодорожный маршрут.

«Кабульский коридор»

Проект железной дороги «Термез — Найбабад — Логар — Харлачи», которая обеспечит выход на пакистанские морские порты «Карачи» и «Касем», свяжет всю Евразийскую железнодорожную систему с Южноазиатской через Афганистан и будет способствовать повышению транзитного потенциала ЦА, привлечению потоков грузов, возродит историческую роль региона — перекрестка Великого Шелкового пути, а также свяжет регионы Евразии кратчайшим сухопутным маршрутом.

Создавая единую железнодорожную инфраструктуру стран ЕС, СНГ, Китая со странами Южной и Юго-Восточной Азии (Афганистан, Пакистан, Индия, Бангладеш и др.), проект позволит без дополнительных расходов обеспечить скорейшую транспортировку грузов по новому коридору «Север-Юг», соединить крупнейшие рынки, создать уникальные возможности для Афганистана, формируя огромные транзитные потоки — до 20 млн тонн в год до 2030 года.

Оригинал статьи доступен на английском языке.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
08.12.2020
Евразийский железнодорожный прорыв

Значительный рост объёма транзитных железнодорожных перевозок из Китая в Европу, достигнутый за последние годы, положительно сказался на развитии российской транспортной системы. Для России реализация транспортно-транзитного потенциала — не просто способ увеличения доходов экономических субъектов, бюджета, населения, но важная геополитическая задача

Статья
24.03.2022
Международный транспортный коридор «Север — Юг»: создание транспортного каркаса Евразии

Евразийский банк развития представил новое исследование, в котором сформулирована идея евразийского транспортного каркаса, а также дана оценка потенциала международного транспортного коридора «Север — Юг» на фоне открывающихся новых возможностей.