Outlook for trade and transport links between Uzbekistan and Belarus

02.02.2024

Belarus is restructuring its foreign trade logistics, looking to new markets, intensifying cooperation with countries that are already importing Belarusian products. Belarus is looking for new transport routes through Central Asian countries, particularly Uzbekistan.

The fundamental document regulating trade and economic cooperation between Belarus and Uzbekistan is the cooperation roadmap adopted in November 2018, which includes 158 measures to develop cooperation in key sectors of the economy.

Uzbekistan is Belarus’s second largest trade partner in Central Asia after Kazakhstan. Over the past three years, trade between the countries has almost doubled, reaching a record level of $500 million in 2022.

According to the Statistics Agency, in the first ten months of 2023, imports from Belarus increased by 22% compared to the same period in 2022, reaching $398.6 million. At the same time, Uzbekistan’s exports to Belarus grew slightly slower, by 16%, for a total of $109.4 million.

Physical export and import flows have also been experiencing variable dynamics, but with an upward trend. Uzbekistan had a trade deficit with Belarus throughout the whole period until 2022, with imports significantly exceeding exports to that country. In 2022, imports from Belarus quadrupled relative to 2021 and reached 206 thousand tons.

Because neither Uzbekistan, nor Belarus has direct access to seaports, rail and motor options are the most common modes of transport for freight shipments. Rail transport in Uzbekistan is gaining momentum, but insufficient digital penetration and transparency make it difficult to build an efficient railway infrastructure in the country. So far, road transport accounts for a significant share of freight shipments at 55%, compared to 35% by rail.

Today, facing external restrictions, Belarus is interested in importing certain categories of products from Uzbekistan (cotton yarn and knitwear, food products, fruit and vegetable products); it is a source of stable high demand for these categories of goods. Uzbekistan, in turn, is increasing import of timber products, processed fuel, motor vehicles and meat and dairy products from Belarus.

Better transport connectivity will create conditions for the continued growth of trade between the two countries. The development of alternative transport corridors and new logistics chains is an integral part of trade and economic relations.

Analytics on topic
Article
10.29.2021
The EU’s unsustainable China strategy
Can the EU continue to balance its relationships with China and the US in the context of increased rivalry between the superpowers?
Article
05.31.2023
Will the cost of shipping from China go down, and how will this affect retail business?

Over the past year, rates have fallen for container shipping from China (according to the Drewry World Container Index). Pricing has approached pre-crises levels. Will this trend be reflected in retail business, and what issues are transport operators concerned with? Retail.ru took these questions to key players on the market.

Перспективы развития торговли и транспортного сообщения между Узбекистаном и Беларусью

02.02.2024

Беларусь перестраивает свою внешнеторговую логистику, активно ища новые рынки сбыта, принимая решение усилить сотрудничество с странами, куда уже поставляется белорусская продукция, и ищет новые транспортные маршруты через страны Центральной Азии, в частности Узбекистан.

Фундаментальным документом торгово-экономического взаимодействия Беларуси и Узбекистана является дорожная карта сотрудничества двух стран, принятая в ноябре 2018 года и насчитывающая 158 мероприятий по развитию сотрудничества в ключевых сферах экономики.

Узбекистан является вторым по объему товарооборота партнером Беларуси в Центральной Азии после Казахстана. За последние три года товарооборот между странами увеличился почти вдвое, достигнув в 2022 году рекордного уровня в 500 млн долларов.

По данным Агентства, за десять месяцев 2023 года импорт из Беларуси увеличился на 22% по сравнению с аналогичным периодом 2022 года, достигнув 398,6 млн долларов. Вместе с тем экспорт узбекских товаров в Беларусь рос немного менее интенсивно, увеличившись на 16% до уровня 109,4 млн долларов.

Физические грузопотоки экспорта и импорта также показывают переменную динамику, но с тенденцией к росту. На протяжении всего исследуемого периода Узбекистан имел дефицит в торговле с Беларусью: вплоть до 2022 года грузопоток по направлению из Беларуси в Узбекистан значительно превышал встречный поток. Кроме того, в 2022 году объем поставок в Узбекистан увеличился в четыре раза по отношению к 2021 году и достиг 206 тыс. тонн.

Ввиду отсутствия у обеих стран прямого выхода к морским портам основными видами транспортного сообщения выступают железнодорожные и автомобильные грузоперевозки. Железнодорожное сообщение в Узбекистане набирает обороты, но недостаточный уровень цифровизации и транспарентности усложняет создание эффективной железнодорожной инфраструктуры. Значительную часть в объеме перевозки грузов занимает автомобильный транспорт — 55%, железнодорожный транспорт — 35%.

Сегодня в условиях определенных ограничений Беларусь заинтересована в поставках узбекской продукции (хлопчатобумажная пряжа и трикотаж, продукты питания, плодоовощная продукция), спрос на которую стабилен и достаточно высок. Узбекистан, в свою очередь, наращивает импорт из Беларуси продукции из дерева, переработанного топлива, автотехники и мясомолочной продукции.

Созданию условий для увеличения товарооборота между двумя странами способствует транспортная взаимосвязанность. Развитие альтернативных коридоров и формирование новых логистических цепочек является неотъемлемой частью торгово-экономических отношений.

Аналитика на тему
Интервью
11.03.2022
Интервью
11.03.2022
Интервью с Бонни Жу для портала ERAI

Интервью с соучредительницей и генеральным директором китайской логистической компании Neptune Logistics Group Бонни Жу для портала ERAI.

Статья
12.01.2023
Перспективы формирования Евразийского транспортного каркаса

Транспорт может обеспечить Центральной Азии доступ на международные рынки. Новый взгляд на транспорт в регионе состоит в построении транзитного перекрестка, который образует транспортный каркас Европы.

Источник: Евразийский банк развития