Uzbekistan The Big Winner In China’s New Central Asian CKU Railway

11.29.2023

The CKU Railways will create significant trade opportunities for Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan while linking China directly to the Middle East via Rail, with spin off benefits throughout the region

China has finally pushed the ‘Go’ button on the long-awaited China-Kyrgyzstan-Uzbekistan (CKU) railway, with work on the route expected to start in spring next year. The Kyrgyz President, Sadyr Zhaparov, made the announcement last week.

«We will start in 2023 after the feasibility study is completed this year. The feasibility study is being prepared with the participation of three parties. There will be jobs. Our economy will boom,» said Zhaparov, noting that it has been 20 years since Kyrgyzstan wanted to build this railway.

Delays have been created by sheer logistical and technical difficulties as well as the high cost. Kyrgyzstan is mountainous and the line will need the boring of over 90 tunnels, while winter weather conditions are also difficult. China access will be from the Kashgar Rail Terminus in West Xinjiang Province which is already connected to China’s national rail network.

The CKU Route As A Transit Corridor To The EU & Middle East

The CKU route, which will become the southern part of China-Europe freight rail, will link China, Kyrgyzstan, and Uzbekistan to Central and Eastern Europe via Iran and Turkey. According to proposed plans, the total length of the CKU railway is about 523 kilometers, including 213 kilometers in China, 260 kilometers in Kyrgyzstan and about 50 kilometers in Uzbekistan.

From Uzbekistan, it can then connect with Uzbekistan-Turkmenistan rail to the Turkmenbashi Port on the Caspian Sea, where it can intersect with either Baku Port in Azerbaijan and onto markets in Georgia, Turkey and the Black Sea EU nations of Bulgaria and Romania, or it can head south to Iranian Caspian Ports such as Anzali, head south by rail (also being completed in 2023) via the International North-South Transportation Corridor (INSTC) to the southern Iranian Port at Chabahar. Maritime access then leads to the Middle East, East Africa, and India.

Uzbek officials have said that when completed, the railway will be the shortest route to transport goods from China to Europe and the Middle East, cutting the freight journey by 900 kilometers and saving seven to eight days in shipping time. Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan officials have ready been planning for bilateral transit connectivity along their onward section of the CKU route while Turkmenistan and Iran have been doing the same. Iran has also been discussing INSTC connectivity with Qatar.

Analytics on topic
Report
09.03.2020
Report
09.03.2020
China Economic Quarterly Q1 2020

The PwC’s Quarterly Review describes the state of the Chinese economy during the most challenging phase of pandemic-related constraints. The research focuses on the state of the private sector of the economy, the country’s exports and imports, and employment.

Article
12.27.2023
Contrasting rail freight trends between China and Europe

The China-Europe rail freight market is undergoing a major transformation, with the notable emergence of the Middle Corridor, despite significant operating constraints.

Преимущества Узбекистана от строительства новой центральноазиатской железной дороги

29.11.2023

Железная дорога Китай-Кыргызстан-Китай создаст значительные торговые возможности для Киргизии и Узбекистана, связывая Китай непосредственно с Ближним Востоком через железнодорожный путь, что принесет пользу всему региону

В 2022 году Китай наконец-то нажал кнопку «Старт» на долгожданной железной дороге Китай-Кыргызстан-Узбекистан (ККУ), однако работы начались только весной 2023 года.

Задержки строительства вызваны исключительно логистическими и техническими трудностями, а также высокой стоимостью. Киргизия гористая, и трассе понадобится пробурить более 90 туннелей, а зимние погодные условия также затрудняют строительство. Доступ Китая будет осуществляться через железнодорожный терминал Кашгар в западной провинции Синьцзян, который уже связан с национальной железнодорожной сетью Китая.

Маршрут ККУ как транзитный коридор в Европейский союз и Ближний Восток

Маршрут ККУ, который станет южной частью железной дороги Китай-Европа, свяжет Китай, Кыргызстан и Узбекистан с Центральной и Восточной Европой через Иран и Турцию. Согласно предлагаемым планам, общая протяженность железной дороги ККУ составляет около 523 километров, включая 213 километров в Китае, 260 километров в Кыргызстане и около 50 километров в Узбекистане.

Из Узбекистана он может соединиться с железной дорогой Узбекистан-Туркменистан, которая ведет к порту Туркменбаши на Каспийском море. Оттуда он может пересечься с портом Баку в Азербайджане и продолжить до рынков Грузии, Турции и стран Черноморского региона Евросоюза, таких как Болгария и Румыния, или отправиться на юг к иранским каспийским портам, таким как Анзали. Затем он может двигаться на юг по железной дороге (также будет завершена в 2023 году) через Международный транспортный коридор Север-Юг к южному иранскому порту Чабахар. Морской доступ позволит достигнуть Ближнего Востока, Восточной Африки и Индии.

Узбекские чиновники заявили, что после завершения железнодорожной линии она станет самым коротким маршрутом для транспортировки грузов из Китая в Европу и Ближний Восток, сокращая длину пути на 900 километров и экономя семь-восемь дней на доставке. Узбекистан и Туркменистан уже планируют двустороннюю транзитную связь по своему участку маршрута ККУ, а Туркменистан и Иран делают то же самое.

Оригинал статьи доступен на английском языке.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
31.10.2023
Центральная Азия среди эпохи перемен и новой Большой игры

Отношения стран Центральной Азии с великими державами играют решающее значение для их безопасности и стабильности

Источник: Россия в глобальной политике
Статья
28.02.2024
Инвестиции Китая в автомобильную промышленность с целью освоения европейского рынка

Чтобы завоевать европейский автомобильный рынок, Китай не только наращивает объемы экспорта, но и инвестирует в местный рынок, что влечет за собой реорганизацию цепочек поставок