The Eurasian Railway Route and Prospects for China’s Exports to Russia

05.31.2023

In 2022, the transport industry in Russia and the EAEU as a whole faced unprecedented challenges in the logistics of goods flows due to large-scale trade restructuring in the wake of sanctions restrictions.

Building new logistics required prompt decisions to create new transport routes through friendly and neutral countries that had not acceded to the sanctions against Russia. The search for new supply chains, including multimodal ones, and settlement schemes require a new level of flexibility and new logistics solutions for all involved economic agents. The greatest changes are expected in cargo turnover with Russia’s largest trading partners — the European Union and China.

For the Eurasian railway route, which passes through the territory of Belarus, Russia and Kazakhstan, the new international political conditions have become a challenge. Despite the absence of sanctions against rail freight and the route operator, the current working environment has led to a 22% drop in container traffic on the China-Europe-China route by 35% in 2022. However, the sharply increased demand for transit traffic within the EAEU, primarily from Russia and Belarus to China and vice versa, compensated for the drop in transit cargo volumes.

China’s exports to Russia in value terms during the crisis also remained at their 2019 level (about $50 billion), and by 2022 grew to $76 billion. Export growth in value terms over the past year was 13%.

The structure of China’s exports to Russia is quite diversified, and most of the goods (81% by value and 58% by tonnage) are the result of high-value-added manufacturing. Given the raw material-heavy structure of Russia’s exports to China, this causes asymmetry in the cargo flows between countries: despite a relatively even trade balance in value terms, the physical volume of Russia’s exports to China is many times higher than the volume of imports from there. Thus, in 2020, Russia’s physical exports to China amounted to 171.2 million tons, while imports amounted to 10.9 million tons.

The asymmetry of cargo flows is due to differences in the economic development and production structure of the two countries. China has a more developed manufacturing base, which allows it to export more finished goods to Russia. In turn, Russia is the largest exporter of energy resources such as oil and gas, which dominate its export structure.

In terms of modes of transport, the greatest impact of the sanctions fell on air and road traffic. Railway and maritime transport were affected to a lesser extent, however, significant transformations of the transport and logistics services market itself — fluctuations in the ruble exchange rate, the withdrawal of large Western carriers, problems with insurance, changes in the configuration of cargo flows in favor of the East — had an impact on the cost of transportation. While the commodity structure of Russia’s foreign trade turnover was maintained, there is a significant change in its geography. Products from Western countries are gradually being replaced by goods from Asia. Thus, there is an increase in imports of pharmaceutical products and pharmaceutical raw materials from India and China, as well as major global manufacturers and exporters of these products. Significant changes are taking place in the automotive components market: against the backdrop of curtailing programs for the supply of original spare parts to Russia, the law on parallel imports has opened up new channels for the supply of products.

In connection with the above, the importance of developing trade with China, the largest supplier of products to the Russian market, and its impact on the transport and logistics industry is growing. This review provides an analysis of current exports from China to Russia, the structural features, main changes and growth points identified in 2022, as well as an assessment of the potential of railway freight traffic in this direction.

Analytics on topic
Article
08.11.2023
Global container shipping outlook: pressure mounts amid flood of new capacity

The market is bracing for a massive inflow of new capacity amid slowing demand and resolved congestion. This makes capacity discipline paramount for container liners, but that won’t be easy with increasing competitive pressure after years of record profits

Article
06.24.2023
The Belt and Road initiative in Italy

Italy’s officially joining the China-led Belt and Road Initiative sparked a fierce debate. By analysing five fields of cooperation, the volume sheds light on whether the bilateral agreement has brought about an intensification of bilateral collaboration as wished by the Italian government as the time and whether the concerns around it have materialized.

Евразийский железнодорожный маршрут и перспективы экспорта Китая в Россию

31.05.2023

В 2022 году транспортная отрасль России и ЕАЭС в целом столкнулась с беспрецедентными вызовами в логистике товарных потоков из-за масштабной торговой перестройки в условиях санкционных ограничений.

Выстраивание новой логистики потребовало оперативных решений по созданию новых транспортных путей через дружественные и нейтральные страны, которые не присоединились к санкциям в отношении России. Поиски новых цепей поставок, в том числе мультимодальных, и схем взаиморасчетов требуют нового уровня гибкости и новых логистических решений всех причастных экономических агентов. Наибольшие изменения ожидаются в грузообороте с крупнейшими торговыми партнерами России — Евросоюзом и Китаем.

Для евразийского железнодорожного маршрута, проходящего по террито- рии Белоруссии, России и Казахстана, новые международно-политические условия стали вызовом. Несмотря на отсутствие санкций в отношении ж/д грузоперевозок и оператора маршрута, сложившаяся среда работы при- вела к падению контейнеропотока в сообщении Китай — Европа — Китай на 35% в 2022 году. Однако резко возросший спрос на транзитные перевозки внутри ЕАЭС, прежде всего из России и Белоруссии в Китай и обратно, компенсировал выпадающие транзитные объемы грузов.

Экспорт Китая в Россию в стоимостном выражении в период кризиса также сохранился на уровне 2019 года (порядка 50 млрд долл.), а к 2022 вырос до 76,12 млрд долл. Рост экспорта в стоимостном выражении за последний год составил 13%.

Структура экспорта Китая в Россию достаточно диверсифицирована, и боль- шая часть товаров (81% по стоимости и 58% по тоннажу) относится к высокому уровню передела. Наряду с сырьевым характером структуры экспорта России в Китай это обуславливает асимметрию грузопотоков между странами: при относительной сбалансированности сальдо торговли в стоимостном выражении, физические объемы экспорта России в Китай многократно пре- вышают объемы импорта оттуда. Так, в 2020 году физический экспорт России в Китай составил 171,2 млн тонн, тогда как импорт — 10,9 млн тонн.

Асимметрия грузопотоков обусловлена различиями в экономическом развитии и структуре производства двух стран. Китай имеет более развитую производственную базу, что позволяет ему экспортировать больше готовых товаров в Россию. В свою очередь, Россия является крупнейшим экспортером энергоносителей, таких как нефть и газ, что составляет основу ее экспорт- ной структуры. 

В разрезе видов транспорта наибольший санкционный удар пришелся на авиа- и автосообщение. Железнодорожный и морской транспорт были затронуты в меньшей степени, однако существенные трансформации самого рынка транспортно-логистических услуг — скачки курса рубля, уход крупных западных перевозчиков, проблемы со страхованием, изменение конфигу- рации грузопотоков в пользу восточного направления — оказали влияние на стоимость транспортировки. При сохранении товарной структуры грузооборота внешней торговли России происходит существенное изменение ее географии. Продукцию западных стран постепенно замещают товары из Азии. Так, отмечается рост импорта фармацевтических товаров и фармсырья из Индии и Китая, крупных мировых производителей и экспортеров данной продукции. Существенные изменения происходят на рынке автомобильных комплектующих: на фоне сворачивания программ поставок оригинальных запчастей в Россию закон о параллельном импорте открывает новые каналы поставок продукции.

В связи с вышеизложенным возрастает важность развития торговли с Китаем, крупнейшим поставщиком продукции на рынок России, и ее влияния на транспортно-логистическую отрасль. В данном обзоре представлен анализ текущего экспорта из Китая в Россию, структурные особенности, основные изменения и точки роста, выявленные по итогам 2022 года, а также оценка потенциала ж/д грузопотока по данному направлению.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
27.11.2020
Китай планирует развивать скоростные железные дороги для поддержки электронной торговли

В Китае уже имеется разветвленная сеть высокоскоростных пассажирских железных дорог, и теперь цель — развитие грузовых перевозок. Железнодорожники полагают, что спрос со стороны онлайн-ритейлеров станет движителем развития высокоскоростных грузоперевозок

Статья
27.04.2023
Китайская стратегическая заинтересованность в европейских портах

В 2021 году ЕС экспортировал в Китай товаров на сумму 223 млрд евро, а импортировал на 472 миллиарда евро. Китай является главным экспортером товаров в Европу. При этом существенная доля европейского импорта из Китая идет через морские порты ЕС.

Источник: European Parliamentary Research Service