What markets has the dry port in Xi'an opened for Kazakhstan

06.27.2024

In February 2024, China hosted the official opening ceremony of the logistics cargo terminal of Kazakhstan in the dry port of Xi’an

Xi’an, located in Shaanxi Province in northwestern China, is a hub transit center, and the dry port is the largest in the country, where 40% of the total volume of container trains between China and the European Union is formed.

Over the past three years, the average annual growth rate of the number of trains on the China-Europe route in Shaanxi has amounted to 12.8%, exceeding 5.3 thousand trains, and the province ranks first in the country in terms of key indicators such as the number of trains, cargo gravity coefficient and cargo volume.

The Kazakh terminal in Xi’an was built in a fairly short period of time: construction was launched in May 2023, test operation began in December of the same year, and its official launch took place in February 2024.

According to JSC «NC» KTZ ", the capacity of the terminal in Xi’an is 66.5 thousand TEU per year.

In total, since the opening of the terminal in Xi’an, more than 30 container trains have been sent. In particular, regular shipments of container trains have begun in cooperation with BYD. In April, one container train was sent in the direction of Xi’an — Jizzakh, in total, according to the plan from BYD, 70 container trains are planned to be sent by the end of the year.

It should be noted that Xi’an is considered the largest inland land port in China, from where the China-Europe Chang’an railway express departs. And Xi’an Xianyang International Airport is the largest air hub in northwest China. After the airport expansion is completed in 2025, its passenger traffic will reach 83 million people per year, and cargo traffic will reach 1 million tons.

As the head of the commercial representative office of Shaanxi Province in Kazakhstan noted, the cargo terminal in Xi’an will not only expand access to the Chinese market for Kazakhstani exporters, but also open new sales markets, in particular in the countries of Northeast and Southeast Asia.

Vice Minister of Transport of the People’s Republic of China Li Yang, speaking at the forum within the framework of the China-Europe railway route in Lianyungang in September 2023, proposed to expand the new model of multimodal transportation China-Europe Railway Express. The Japan-Korea-Lianyungang-Almaty model was positively noted.

According to Chinese data, the China-Europe route covers 217 cities in twenty-five European countries and is very actively used. Trains have already run on it 77 thousand times, transporting over 7.3 million tons of cargo in both directions for a total amount of more than $340 billion.

Recall that since the launch of the Kazakhstan terminal in Lianyungang in 2014, more than 1.6 million containers have been transported. The terminal provides cargo handling from the countries of Southeast Asia and the Asia-Pacific region going both to Kazakhstan and through its territory to European countries, as well as in the opposite direction.

In 2023, the volume of traffic between Kazakhstan and China broke a new historical record of 28.3 million tons, an increase of 22% compared to 2022.

It is expected that the volume of transportation between Kazakhstan and China may increase to 40 million tons by 2025. To achieve this indicator and ensure the transportation of the projected cargo flow, JSC NC KTZ is working on the reconstruction and development of the mainline network of Kazakhstan railways.

To date, there are 4 key infrastructure projects, the implementation of which will achieve the intended goals: modernization of the Dostyk-Moynty section, a railway line bypassing the railway junction of the Almaty station, the Darbaza-Maktaaral railway line and the construction of the third railway border crossing Bakhty-Tachen with the construction of a new railway line Bakhty-Ayagoz".

The original is available in Russian

Analytics on topic
Report
07.31.2019
Report
07.31.2019
Impact of Russian Embargo on Trade Flows Structure from European Union to Asian Countries
Analysis of international trade statistics shows that different groups of the European Union (EU) member countries reacted differently to a ban on imports of certain types of food products (hereinafter referred to as «sanctioned goods») by Russia in August 2014, which also implies a ban on transit traffic.
Report
12.11.2020
Report
12.11.2020
EU-China Trade and Investment Relations in Challenging Times
Trade continues to be the least problematic aspect of the EU-China economic relationship. The BRI offers potential trade gains for Europe by improving physical connectivity with countries along the route to China, but it also poses challenges for the EU. While Chinese investment in Europe is growing and has focused strongly on technology, it raises the question of whether the EU should fear losing its technological edge, especially when Chinese state-owned companies might distort competition through foreign acquisitions.
Source: European Parliament

Какие рынки сбыта для Казахстана открыл сухой порт в Сиане

27.06.2024

В феврале 2024 года в Китае состоялась официальная церемония открытия логистического грузового терминала Казахстана в сухом порту города Сиань

Город Сиань, расположенный в провинции Шэньси на северо-западе Китая, является узловым транзитным центром, а сухой порт — крупнейшим в стране, где формируется 40% от общего объема контейнерных поездов сообщением Китай — Европейский союз.

За последние три года среднегодовой темп роста количества поездов по маршруту «Китай-Европа» в Шэньси составил 12,8%, превысив 5,3 тысячи поездов, а по основным показателям, таким как количество поездов, коэффициент тяжести груза и объем грузоперевозок, провинция занимает первое место в стране.

Казахстанский терминал в Сиане возведен за довольно короткий срок: в мае 2023 года состоялся запуск строительства, в декабре того же года начата тестовая эксплуатация, а в феврале 2024 года — его официальный старт.

Как сообщили в пресс-службе АО «НК «КТЖ», проектная мощность терминала в городе Сиань составляет 66,5 тысяч ДФЭ в год.

Всего с момента открытия терминала в г. Сиань отправлено более 30 контейнерных поездов. В частности, в сотрудничестве с компанией BYD начаты регулярные отправки контейнерных поездов. В апреле месяце был отправлен один контейнерный поезд в направлении Сиань — Джизак, всего по плану с BYD до конца года планируется отправить 70 контейнерных поездов.

Следует отметить, что Сиань считается крупнейшим внутренним сухопутным портом Китая, откуда отправляется железнодорожный экспресс Китай-Европа «Чанъань». А международный аэропорт Сианя «Сяньян» — крупнейший воздушный хаб на северо-западе Китая. После завершения расширения аэропорта в 2025 году его пассажиропоток достигнет 83 млн человек в год, а грузопоток — 1 млн тонн.

Как отметил глава коммерческого представительства провинции Шэньси в Казахстане Хэ Чэн, грузовой терминал в Сиане не только расширит для казахстанских экспортеров доступ на китайский рынок, но и откроет новые рынки сбыта, в частности в странах Северо-Восточной и Юго-Восточной Азии.

Вице-министр транспорта КНР Ли Ян, выступая на форуме в рамках железнодорожного маршрута «Китай-Европа» в Ляньюньгане в сентябре 2023 года, предложил расширить новую модель мультимодальных перевозок China-Europe Railway Express. В позитивном плане отмечена модель «Япония-Корея-Ляньюньган-Алматы».

Согласно китайским данным, маршрут «Китай-Европа» охватывает 217 городов в двадцати пяти странах Европы и очень активно используется. Поезда по нему курсировали уже 77 тысяч раз, перевезя в обоих направлениях свыше 7,3 млн тонн грузов на общую сумму более $340 млрд.

Напомним, что с момента запуска казахстанского терминала в Ляньюньган в 2014 году транспортировано более 1,6 млн контейнеров. Через терминал обеспечивается обработка грузов из стран Юго-Восточной Азии и Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона следующих как в Казахстан, так и через его территорию в страны Европы, а также в обратном направлении.

В 2023 году объем перевозок между Казахстаном и Китаем побил новый исторический рекорд в 28,3 млн тонн, увеличившись на 22% по сравнению с 2022 годом.

Ожидается рост, что объемы перевозок между Казахстаном и Китаем до 2025 года могут возрасти до 40 млн тонн. Для достижения данного показателя и обеспечения перевозки прогнозируемого грузопотока АО «НК «КТЖ» проводит работу по реконструкции и развитию магистральной сети казахстанских железных дорог.

На сегодняшний день имеется 4 ключевых инфраструктурных проекта реализация которых позволит достичь намеченных целей: модернизация участка «Достык-Мойынты», железнодорожная линия в обход железнодорожного узла станции «Алматы», железнодорожная линия «Дарбаза-Мактаарал» и строительство третьего железнодорожного пограничного перехода «Бахты-Тачэн» со строительством новой ж/д линии «Бахты-Аягоз».

Аналитика на тему
Статья
27.06.2024
Континентальные железнодорожные грузоперевозки Китай — Европа

25 мая грузовое железнодорожное сообщение Китай—Европа достигло знаменательной вехи, завершив свой 90 000-й рейс

Статья
28.07.2023
Хороший, лучше, самый лучший: железные дороги продвигают свою программу ESG
Комплексная стратегия ESG могла бы помочь железнодорожным компаниям продвигать их программы устойчивого развития — и решать не только задачи декарбонизации.