Trade between Germany and China in 2020: the structure of German exports and prospects for modal shift to rail
09.16.2021
In 2020, China became the main trading partner of Germany and the EU. The German economy is the strongest in Europe, and China is the driver of global economic growth. Therefore, the ties between Germany and China are of particular importance for the development of the Eurasian railway route.

Trade between Germany and China, which are the two economic leaders of their regions, is the most important segment of interregional trade in the direction of China-Europe-China. In 2020, China became the EU’s main trading partner, and the commodity turnover between Germany and China amounted to approximately USD 244 billion. German exports are essential for balancing the flow of commodities, given the excess of the country’s imports from China over exports.

In value terms, the main commodities of German exports to China are automotive equipment, mechanical equipment and electrical devices, which account for 62% of the country’s exports, that is, approximately USD 69.1 billion. This state of affairs is connected with the historical specialization of the country’s economy. In addition, a distinctive feature of German exports is a significant share of pharmaceutical products resulting from the developed chemical industry of the country.

To select the most promising commodities of potential cargo traffic from Germany to China in terms of switching to the railway, UN COMTARDE data on German exports to China in 2019 and 2020 were analysed in quantitative terms, as well as data from Eurostat on the types of transport by which German commodities were exported to China in 2020. The data were compared at the level of six HS signs. Further, for a more detailed analysis, 15 main commodity groups were identified on six HS signs, for which the largest export volumes are noted, as well as the largest increase in German exports to China in physical terms in 2020.

According to the analysis, a large-scale increase in exports is observed in the supply of wood raw materials (HS 44), i.e. spruce and fir timber (4.6 million tons), as well as spruce and fir lumber (0.41 million tons), beech timber (0.25 million tons), and beech lumber (0.11 million tons). This is due to the reorientation of this industry to export.

Despite the weak growth in the group as a whole, automotive equipment is promising for the modal shift. The growth was shown by body parts and accessories (HS 870829), thereby reaching the level of 233,000 tons, of which 3,870 tons passed along the Eurasian route (+54.8%). Passenger cars with a gasoline engine and an electric motor without external recharging (HS 870340) have great long-term prospects, the supply of which increased by 29,400 tons (+97%). Although 4,500 tons of this product passed along the Eurasian route, the decarbonisation agenda and the demand for hybrid cars make this category a potentially significant growth point in the medium term.

The potential in terms of food products also continues to be preserved. Significant volumes of exports of fresh milk (HS 040120, HS 040110) and pork (HS 020329, HS 020649) are not yet accompanied by an increase in such deliveries by rail. This fact actualizes the issue of the use of electronic seals necessary for the transportation of commodities across the territory of Russia in the context of counter-sanctions.

A significant increase in physical terms was shown by the products of the ferrous metallurgy. Despite the fact that China is also a supplier, certain commodity sub-items of German exports are in demand on the Chinese market and showed a noticeable increase in absolute figures (pig iron, slabs, etc.).

The analysis shows an increase in the share of railway cargo transportation in certain categories, as well as a significant share of the railway in the transportation of German automotive products to China. However, in general, the share of rail transport continues to remain low for most commodity items of German exports to China.

The full version of the material is available here.

Analytics on topic
Report
08.14.2020
Report
08.14.2020
Rail Container Transportation in Eurasia in the First Half of 2020

In the first five months of 2020, the total value of mutual trade between the EU and China carried out by railway transport, increased by 21.22% year-on-year (47.42% more in May than in January 2020) . This development allowed rail transport to increase its share in the total trade volume from 2.83% in January-May 2019 to 3.47% in January-May 2020.

Article
12.08.2020
Eurasian Railway Breakthrough

The considerable increase in China-Europe railway shipping volumes has positively influenced the development of the entire Russian transport system over the past few years. Enhancing Russia’s transport and transit potential will increase the revenue of manufacturing/processing companies, the budget and the income of employees and have major geopolitical implications

Торговля Германии и Китая в 2020 году: структура экспорта Германии и перспективы перехода на железную дорогу

16.09.2021

В 2020 году Китай стал главным торговым партнером Германии и ЕС. Германская экономика является сильнейшей в Европе, а Китай является драйвером роста глобальной экономики. Поэтому особую важность связи Германии и Китая имеют для развития евразийского железнодорожного маршрута.

Торговля между Германией и Китаем, двумя экономическими лидерами своих регионов, является важнейшим сегментом межрегиональной торговли в направлении Китай — Европа — Китай. В 2020 году Китай стал главным торговым партнером ЕС, а товарооборот Германии и Китая составил порядка 244 млрд долл. Экспорт Германии имеет существенное значение для балансировки товаропотока, учитывая превышение импорта страны из Китая над экспортом.

В стоимостном выражении основными товарами германского экспорта в Китай являются автотехника, механическое оборудование и электрические устройства, на которые приходится 62% экспорта страны, то есть порядка 69,1 млрд долл. Такое положение дел связано с исторической специализацией экономики страны. Также отличительной особенностью германского экспорта является существенная доля фармацевтической продукции, проистекающая из развитой химической промышленности страны.

Для отбора наиболее перспективных товаров потенциального грузопотока из Германии в Китай в плане перехода на железную дорогу были проанализированы данные UN COMTARDE по экспорту ФРГ в Китай в 2019 и 2020 гг. в количественном выражении, а также данные Евростат по видам транспорта, посредством которых германские товары экспортировались в Китай в 2020 г. Данные были сопоставлены на уровне шести знаков ТН ВЭД. Далее для более детального анализа были выделены 15 основных товарных групп на шести знаках ТН ВЭД, по которым отмечается наибольший объем экспорта, а также наибольший прирост экспорта Германии в Китай в физическом выражении в 2020 году.

Как показал анализ, масштабный прирост экспорта наблюдается в поставках древесного сырья (ТН ВЭД 44): лесоматериалов ели и пихты (4,6 млн тонн), а также еловых и пихтовых пиломатериалов (0,41 млн тонн), буковых лесоматериалов (0,25 млн тонн), буковых пиломатериалов (0,11 млн тонн). Это связано с переориентацией данной отрасли на экспорт.

Несмотря на слабый прирост в целом по группе, перспективной для модального сдвига является автотехника: рост показали части и принадлежности кузовов (ТН ВЭД 870829), достигнув отметки 233 тыс. тонн, из которых 3,87 тыс. тонн прошло по евразийскому маршруту (+54,8%). Большие долгосрочные перспективы имеют легковые автомобили с бензиновым двигателем и электродвигателем без внешней подзарядки (код 870340), поставки которых увеличились на 29,4 тыс. тонн (+97%). Хотя по евразийскому маршруту проследовало 4,5 тыс. тонн данного товара, повестка декарбонизации и спрос на гибридные автомобили делают данную категорию потенциально значимой точкой роста в среднесрочной перспективе.

Также продолжает сохраняться потенциал в части пищевой продукции. Значительные объемы экспорта свежего молока (коды 040120, 040110) и свинины (коды 020329, 020649) пока не сопровождаются ростом таких поставок по железной дороге. Данный факт актуализирует вопрос применения электронных пломб, необходимых для перевозки грузов по территории России в контексте контрсанкций.

Существенный прирост в физическом выражении показала продукция черной металлургии. Несмотря на то, что Китай также является поставщиком, отдельные товарные субпозиции германского экспорта имеют спрос на китайском рынке и показали заметный прирост в абсолютных цифрах (передельный чугун, слябы и пр.).

Анализ демонстрирует увеличение доли железнодорожных грузоперевозок по отдельным категориям, а также существенную долю железной дороги в перевозках в Китай германской продукции автомобилестроения. Однако в целом доля железнодорожных перевозок продолжает оставаться низкой по большинству товарных позиций экспорта Германии в Китай.

Полная версия материала доступна здесь.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
18.01.2023
Новые транспортные коридоры

После начала СВО рынок логистических перевозок России подвергся значительной встряске, в результате чего логисты вынуждены биться над созданием новых маршрутов, а правительство — создавать специальный штаб по ревизии транспортных коридоров. Новые схемы неустойчивы и требуют колоссальных вложений, но выбора у России сегодня нет.

Обзор
31.08.2022
Обзор
31.08.2022
Контейнерные железнодорожные перевозки на евразийском пространстве в первом полугодии 2022 года

В первом полугодии 2022 года по евразийскому железнодорожному маршруту в направлении Китай — Европа — Китай было перевезено 307,2 тыс. ДФЭ грузов, что на 8,7% меньше показателей за аналогичный период 2021 года.