E-commerce and its impact on Trans-Eurasian railway cargo transportation

06.22.2021

The e-commerce boom has become a sign of today. The main factors here are the focus on the PRC as a driver of global demand and the «workshop of the world», as well as the attraction of electronic cross-border trade to faster delivery methods, one of which is railways.

E-commerce has radically changed business processes due to the ability to buy and sell goods online. This is followed by a change in the logistics of delivering goods. It is important to separate the B2B and B2C segments, as well as to focus specifically on cross-border cargo flows.

E-commerce tends towards faster ways of delivering goods, which at the same time are ready to offer a fairly competitive price, i. e. to land routes, that is, road transport and rail. Transport routes aimed at Asia, especially China, will benefit greatly from the e-commerce boom.

The lack of statistics and the emerging regulation of the sphere prevent an accurate analysis of the impact of e-commerce on Trans-Eurasian cargo transportation.

About 39% of parcels have the PRC as the country of origin. About 44% of parcels have a price of less than 25 euros, and 86% of parcels weigh up to 2 kg. This specificity makes it difficult to classify goods, thus taking into account also their addressees represented by individuals.

China actively promotes the development of cross-border e-commerce through the creation of logistics hubs, simplification of customs regulations, and tax breaks.

In 2019, the total trade turnover between the EU and the PRC via e-commerce can be estimated at EUR 889.9 million, or about USD 1 billion according to postal services. At the same time, more than 2/3 of the goods are not classified, which makes it impossible to estimate the weight and cost of goods outside the statistics of individual companies, such as Amazon or Alibaba.

In Europe, Chinese imports are traditional, while in the PRC, European luxury goods, baby food, and pet products are in increasing demand.

A potential and ambitious benchmark for Trans-Eurasian transit, including rail, can be the share of trade turnover from USD 0.46 billion to USD 0.75 billion.


Analytics on topic
Article
06.01.2021
E-Commerce Monitor by IATA
COVID-19 has shifted consumers behavior and brought exponential growth to e-commerce. What have we learnt in 2020? And how can we build strategies to meet the increased demand for e-commerce?
Source: International Air Transport Association (IATA)
Article
01.26.2021
Kazakhstan: the New EU Green Gateway to East Asia

European Union is revising the TEN-T rail freight corridors under the new Sustainable and Smart Mobility Strategy, so the effective connection of the Eurasian rail routes with the EU Core Backbone Network is a key priority

Электронная коммерция и ее влияние на трансъевразийские ж/д грузоперевозки

22.06.2021

Бум электронной коммерции стал приметой сегодняшнего дня. Главными факторами здесь являются нацеленность на КНР как драйвер мирового спроса и «мастерскую мира», а также тяготение электронной трансграничной торговли к более быстрым способам доставки — одним из которых являются железные дороги.

Электронная коммерция радикально изменила бизнес-процессы вследствие возможности покупки и продажи товаров через интернет. За этим следует изменение логистики доставки товаров. Важно разделять B2B и B2C сегменты, а также фокусироваться именно на трансграничных грузопотоках.

Электронная коммерция тяготеет к более быстрым путям доставки товаров, которые при этом готовы предложить достаточно конкурентную цену — к сухопутным путям, то есть автотранспорту и железной дороге. Транспортные пути, нацеленные на Азию, в особенности КНР, получат большую выгоду от бума электронной торговли.

Отсутствие статистики и только формирующееся регулирование сферы препятствуют точному анализу влияния электронной коммерции на трансъевразийские грузоперевозки.

Порядка 39% посылок имеют страной происхождения КНР. Порядка 44% посылок имеют цену менее € 25, а 86 % посылок весят до 2 кг. Данная специфика затрудняет классификацию товаров, учитывая также их адресатов — физических лиц.

Китай активно стимулирует развитие трансграничной электронной торговли через создание логистических хабов, упрощение таможенного регулирования и налоговые послабления.

Если в Европе китайский импорт носит традиционный характер, то в КНР все большим спросом пользуются европейские товары сегмента люкс, детское питание и товары для домашних животных.

В 2019 г. общий товарооборот ЕС и КНР посредством почтовых отправлений (B2C-сегмент электронной торговли) можно оценить на сумму € 889,9 млн, то есть порядка $ 1 млрд, согласно данным почтовых служб. При этом более 2/3 товаров не классифицированы, что делает невозможным оценку веса и стоимости грузов вне статистики отдельных компаний, например Amazon или Alibaba.

Потенциальным и амбициозным ориентиром для трансъевразийского транзита, в том числе железнодорожного, может служить доля в 10% товарооборота в разрезе как B2B, так и B2C электронной торговли, то есть: от $ 0,46 млрд до $ 0,75 млрд.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
01.06.2021
Мониторинг электронной коммерции от ИАТА
COVID-19 привел к изменению потребительского поведения и экспоненциальному росту электронной коммерции. Какие уроки может вынести из 2020 года авиационная отрасль? И какой должна быть стратегия по удовлетворению возросшего спроса?
Источник: Международная ассоциация воздушного транспорта (IATA)
Обзор
02.09.2021
Обзор
02.09.2021
Обзор рынка грузовых авиаперевозок от ИАТА

В грузовых авиаперевозках наметилась тенденция к росту. Ключевой фактор — старт цикла пополнения товарно-материальных запасов производителей.

Источник: Международная ассоциация воздушного транспорта (IATA)