Global Transport: What Does the Future Hold Beyond COVID-19?
08.07.2020
The COVID-19 pandemic has had a disastrous impact on the global transport sector with all the modes of transport, primarily air and maritime ones, experiencing a strong deterioration in activity at the global level. However, some markets, for instance rail freight between China and Europe, are benefiting from the situation. The report by COFACE credit insurance company titled «Global Transport: What does the future hold beyond COVID-19?» analyzes the current state of the global transport sector suffering a heavy blow from the pandemic and presents three scenarios for the recovery of the sector.

The COVID-19 pandemic has triggered a mobility crisis, mainly because of physical distancing requirements and the necessity to avoid confined spaces. Having a disastrous impact on the global transport sector with air passenger transport as the most affected segment, the pandemic also affected other modes of transport such as railways. However, the economic activity was already decelerating before the crisis, and the transport sector already had to deal with several issues and challenges. The slowdown in the global economy and the ensuing shock in the form of COVID-19 affected not only carriers, but also manufacturers and the supply chain, especially in the aerospace industry.

For the railway segment, the overall impact is also negative even though the effect on rail freight seems to vary from one region to another. On one side, rail freight is complementary to air and sea freight, but is not substitutable. In the U.S., for instance, imports from Asia and Europe are transported either by sea or by air, but cannot be carried by railway. In that respect, Union Pacific, one of the biggest U.S. railway companies, recorded a 22% YoY decrease in volume in Q2. However, in Eurasia, there is some substitutability between air and maritime freight on one side, and railway on the other. In this configuration, a decrease in air and sea freight leads to an increase in rail freight. So the rail transit traffic between China and Europe was 180% higher in May 2020 than a year earlier. This surge is due to both COVID‑19 and a longer-term project, the Belt and Road Initiative.

In the report, COFACE does not expect the sector to recover to fourth quarter (Q4) 2019 level before 2022. In COFACE’s central scenario, the turnover of listed companies of the global transport sector will be 32% lower in Q4 2020 than in Q4 2019. In a “risk scenario”, in which a second wave of the pandemic materializes in Q3 2020, the turnover would be 57% lower in Q4 2020. The ecological agenda also exerts a long-term impact on the transport segment (CO2 emissions from transport accounted for 20% of emissions from fuel combustion). On 1 January 2020, IMO 2020 regulation set by the International Maritime Organization came into force. Air transport is also subject to a legal framework that aims to reduce the environmental impact, primarily by the UN International Civil Aviation Organization, Regional efforts are also notable, like in France where the government decided to remove domestic flights “for which there is a rail alternative less than two and a half hours long.” In this regard, the rail freight has a competitive advantage over the other modes.


Analytics on topic
Report
05.27.2020
Report
05.27.2020
Review of the current state of sea and air cargo transportation market: crisis recovery scenario

The coronavirus outbreak exposed the fragility of global supply chains that move goods between countries. Due to the volatility of the logistic market, carriers are facing new risks and the need to promptly respond to changes in order to manage them. The global cargo transportation market is experiencing significant difficulties caused by abrupt decrease of the transport infrastructure throughput due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Article
10.08.2020
Strong China-Europe Rail Links Boost Cargo Traffic amid Pandemic

While the COVID-19 Pandemic has brought unprecedented disruption to the world economy, it has also strengthened the rail links between China and Europe, and industry experts believe the growing volume of rail freight between East and West will aid the economic recovery of countries and regions along the routes of the Belt & Road Initiative

Source: Belt & Road News

Какое будущее ждёт рынок международных перевозок после пандемии?
07.08.2020
Пандемия COVID-19 оказала разрушительный эффект на отрасль международных перевозок. Сокращение трафика наблюдается по всем видам транспорта, но в первую очередь по воздушному и морскому. Однако железнодорожный транспорт в некоторых регионах, в частности на направлении Европа — Китай, наоборот, частично выигрывает от сложившейся ситуации. Отчёт крупной страховой компании Coface «Global Transport: What does the future hold beyond COVID-19?» включает в себя обзор текущего состояния мирового транспортного рынка в условиях пандемии, а также прогнозные сценарии восстановления рынка международных перевозок.

COVID-19 привёл к масштабному кризису мобильности в связи с требованиями к социальному дистанцированию. Оказав разрушительное влияние на воздушные перевозки, кризис также затронул другие виды транспорта, в том числе и железнодорожный. Однако признаки замедления экономической активности проявились ещё до кризиса, Замедление мировой экономики и последующий шок в виде COVID-19 повлияли не только на перевозчиков, но и на производителей и поставщиков компонентов: наиболее подверженной кризису в этом контексте оказалась аэрокосмическая отрасль.

Общее влияние кризиса на железнодорожные перевозки также оказалось негативным, однако этот эффект различается в зависимости от региона. Железнодорожные грузоперевозки комплементарны с воздушным и морским транспортом, но они не всегда являются взаимозаменяемыми. В США, куда грузы транспортируются либо морем, либо по воздуху, падение в этих двух сегментах привело и к спаду объёма железнодорожных грузоперевозок. Так, Union Pacific, одна из крупнейших железнодорожных компаний США, потеряла 22% объёма грузооборота во втором квартале 2020 года по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года. В то же время в Евразии, где железные дороги стали альтернативой воздуху и морю, перевозки между Китаем и Европой в мае 2020 года увеличились на 180% по сравнению с маем 2019 года. Такой взрывной рост объясняется не только пандемией, но и долгосрочным развитием проекта «Один пояс — один путь».

В своём прогнозе аналитики французской страховой компании Кофас (Coface) не ожидают восстановления транспортного сектора до уровня 4-го квартала 2019 года ранее 2022 года. Согласно базовому сценарию, оборот (в стоимостном выражении) исследуемых компаний транспортного сектора упадёт на 32% в 4-м квартале 2020 года по сравнению с 2019 годом. В случае начала второй волны пандемии, падение составит уже 57%. Долгосрочное влияние также оказывает экологическая повестка по снижению выбросов CO2 (около 20% выбросов приходится на транспортную отрасль) в виде вступления в силу нормативных актов Международной морской организации, а также усилий Международной организации гражданской авиации. Наряду с этим значимую роль также играют меры на региональном уровне. Так, правительство Франции приняло решение отказаться от внутренних авиарейсов при наличии железнодорожной альтернативы, если время в пути составляет менее 2,5 часов. Таким образом, экологичность железнодорожных перевозок является конкурентным преимуществом этого вида транспорта.


Аналитика на тему
Обзор
27.05.2020
Обзор
27.05.2020
Краткосрочный прогноз развития сельскохозяйственных рынков ЕС в 2020 году
Вспышка Covid-19 и её последствия позволили по-новому взглянуть на важность поддержания устойчивых цепочек поставок продуктов питания. Эксперты Европейской комиссии представили отчёт, содержащий анализ текущего состояния сельскохозяйственного сектора ЕС и краткосрочный прогноз дальнейшего развития с использованием последних доступных данных.
Обзор
26.08.2020
Обзор
26.08.2020
Трансформация цепочек добавленной стоимости и транспортная связанность в Евразии: геоэкономические и геополитические последствия

Географически и исторически транспорт и торговля объединяли Евразию настолько же, насколько геополитические конфликты и великодержавное соперничество удерживали её во фрагментированном состоянии. Начиная с 2000-х годов, особенно с запуском инициативы «Один пояс, один путь» и развитием евразийской интеграции (ЕАЭС), как на глобальном, так и на региональном уровне открываются огромные, как никогда прежде, возможности для основательной диверсификации и модернизации экономик континентальной Евразии путём транспортной и торговой интеграции.