Analysis and prospects for the Trans-Caspian international transport route

10.04.2023

The Trans-Caspian International Transport Route (TITR) runs through China, Kazakhstan, the Caspian Sea, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Turkey and further through the Black Sea to Europe. The TITR is a multimodal route that involves two modes of transport: rail and sea.

The TITR began operating in 2017. The length of the route is 11,000 km. The current throughput is 6 million tons per year. By 2025, it is planned that this volume will reach 10 million tons per year .

In 2022, the volume of cargo transportation along the TITR route increased 2.5 times and reached 1.48 million tons. 33,600 TEUs were transported along the route, which is 33% more than last year. Exports of Kazakhstani cargo increased 6.5 times compared to 2021 and amounted to 891,000 tons. However, in 2022, there was a decline in the volume of transit traffic by 3.5%, to 257,500 tons, as well as container traffic — by 25% with a final volume of 11,000 TEU.

Currently, the shipper can find out the complex tariff rate for transporting a container from documents approved by the TITR member countries for the entire year. For example, the approved rate from January 1 to December 31, 2023 on the TITR’s Altynkol — Aktau — Govsan — Boyuk-Kyasik — Gardabani — Batumi — Constanta route is $3,797/FEU . By comparison, shippers can use the ERAI index, which provides easy access to the current cost of rail transit services along the Eurasian route. Thus, according to data as of August 2023, the ERAI index for transit along the Dostyk / Altynkol — Brest / Bruzgi / Svisloch / Kaliningrad rout was equal to 2,943 dollars /FEU .

The cost of transit along the Eurasian route is 30% lower than the cost of cargo transportation along the TITR, which is undoubtedly an important factor for shippers. In terms of cargo delivery times, the TITR is also inferior to the Eurasian route, along which the transit time on the China-Europe-China route ranges from 5 to 7 days. During the same time, cargo from China will only be delivered via TITR to Azerbaijan. Multimodal transportation with a change in modes of transport between rail, road and ferry leads to increased costs, risks to the safety of cargo, and also slows down its processing, in comparison with rail transportation along the Eurasian route.

The continued attractiveness of the TITR for China is due to its desire to develop its western provinces and provide them with access to regional markets. At the same time, one cannot draw a conclusion about the ability of the TITR to «pull» the entire volume of cargo for delivery to Europe. China is focusing on this route, subject to its economic efficiency.

The EU countries are now extremely interested in the development of the route, as they consider this transport corridor as one of the main ones for the delivery of goods from China, since it bypasses Russia.

Turkey, Azerbaijan and Kazakhstan are equally interested in the route for their own reasons. In the context of the development of the TITR, Azerbaijan sees an opportunity to strengthen its transit role and become the largest transport hub. Turkey, in turn, continues to extend its influence to Azerbaijan and Central Asia. The development of the TITR also contributes to an increase in supply volumes between the three countries. Thanks to the transport corridor, large volumes of Kazakh grain will be supplied to Azerbaijan and Turkey, and Azerbaijani fruits and vegetables to Kazakhstan.

Corridors such as the TITR and the Lapis Lazuli Corridor increase the connectivity of countries in Central Asia and the Middle East. The fundamental purpose of transit along the route is replaced by an opportunity for individual participants to enhance their advantageous geostrategic location.

Analytics on topic
Article
01.18.2023
New transport corridors

After the start of the Special Military Operation in Ukraine, the logistics market in Russia was subjected to a significant shake-up, as a result of which logisticians have to fight to create new routes, and the government has to create a special staff to revise the transport corridors. New schemes are unstable and require huge investments, but today Russia has no choice.

Article
04.27.2023
Chinese strategic interests in European ports

In 2021, the EU exported €223 billion of goods to China and imported goods worth €472 billion. China is thereby Europe’s foremost trading partner when it comes to imports of goods, of which a substantial part passes through EU ports, in particular maritime ports.

Анализ и перспективы Транскаспийского международного транспортного маршрута

04.10.2023

Транскаспийский международный транспортный маршрут (ТМТМ) пролегает через Китай, Казахстан, акваторию Каспийского моря, Азербайджан, Грузию, Турцию и далее через акваторию Черного моря в Европу. ТМТМ является мультимодальным маршрутом, в котором задействованы два вида транспорта: железнодорожный и морской.

ТМТМ начал функционировать в 2017 году. Протяженность маршрута составляет 11 тыс. км. Текущая пропускная способность — 6 млн тонн в год. К 2025 году планируется достигнуть уровня в 10 млн тонн в год. Мультимодальный транспортный сервис по маршруту Китай — Курык/Актау — Баку/Алят — Батуми/Поти и далее в третьи страны, в том числе через новую линию Баку — Тбилиси — Карс, был налажен в 2017 году.

В 2022 году объем грузоперевозок по маршруту ТМТМ увеличился в 2,5 раза и достиг 1,48 млн тонн. По маршруту было перевезено 33,6 тыс. ДФЭ — это на 33% превышает показатель прошлого года. Экспорт казахстанских грузов увеличился в 6,5 раза в сравнении с 2021 годом и составил 891 тыс. тонн. Однако в 2022 году произошел спад объема транзитных перевозок на 3,5%, до 257,5 тыс. тонн, а также и контейнерных — на 25% с конечным объемом в 11 тыс. ДФЭ

В настоящее время грузоотправитель может узнать комплексную тарифную ставку на перевозку контейнера из документов, утвержденных странами — участницами ТМТМ на весь год. Так, например, утвержденная ставка с 1 января по 31 декабря 2023 года по маршруту ТМТМ Алтынколь — Актау — Говсан — Беюк-Кясик — Гардабани — Батуми — Констанца составляет 3797 долл./СФЭ . В качестве сравнения грузоотправители могут использовать индекс ERAI, предоставляющий легкий доступ к актуальной стоимости сервисов железнодорожного транзита по евразийскому маршруту. Так, по данным на август 2023 года, показатель индекса ERAI для транзита по маршруту Достык / Алтынколь — Брест / Брузги / Свислочь / Калининград был равен 2943 долл./СФЭ.

Стоимость транзита по евразийскому маршруту на 30% ниже стоимости грузоперевозки по ТМТМ, что является, несомненно, важным фактором для грузоотправителей. В части сроков доставки грузов ТМТМ также уступает евразийскому маршруту, по которому транзитное время в сообщении Китай — Европа — Китай составляет от 5 до 7 дней. За это же время по ТМТМ грузы из Китая будут доставлены только в Азербайджан. Мультимодальная перевозка со сменой видов транспорта между железнодорожным, автомобильным и паромным приводит к увеличению затрат, рисков и безопасности груза, а также замедляет его обработку, в сравнении с железнодорожной перевозкой по евразийскому маршруту.

Сохраняющаяся привлекательность ТМТМ для Китая обусловлена его стремлением развивать свои западные провинции и обеспечить им доступ на региональные рынки сбыта. В то же время нельзя сделать вывод о способности ТМТМ «перетянуть» на себя весь объем грузов для доставки в Европу. Китай ориентируется на данный маршрут при условии его экономической эффективности.

Страны ЕС сейчас крайне заинтересованы в развитии маршрута, так как рассматривают этот транспортный коридор как один из основных для доставки грузов из Китая, поскольку он идет в обход России.

Турция, Азербайджан и Казахстан в равной степени проявляют интерес к маршруту по своим собственным причинам. В контексте развития ТМТМ Азербайджан видит возможность усилить свою транзитную роль и стать крупнейшим транспортным хабом. Турция, в свою очередь, продолжает распространять свое влияние на Азербайджан и Среднюю Азию. Развитие ТМТМ способствует также увеличению объемов поставок между тремя странами. Благодаря транспортному коридору казахстанское зерно в больших объемах будет поставляться в Азербайджан и Турцию, азербайджанские фрукты и овощи — в Казахстан.

Такие коридоры, как ТМТМ и Лазуритовый коридор, повышают связанность стран региона Средней Азии и Ближнего Востока. Основополагающая цель транзита по маршруту сменяется возможностью для отдельных участников усилить свое выгодное геостратегическое расположение.

Аналитика на тему
Обзор
31.03.2019
Обзор
31.03.2019
Потенциал грузопотоков в сообщении между странами Бенилюкс и Китаем
В 2018 г. наблюдался резкий рост импорта стран Бенилюкс из Китая. Исследование включает анализ потенциала грузопотока в сообщении между странами Бенилюкс и Китаем, а именно переключения товаропотоков с морского на ж/д транспорт.
Источник: International Trade and Integration Research Center
Обзор
18.03.2022
Обзор
18.03.2022
Контейнерные железнодорожные перевозки на евразийском пространстве в 2021 году

Какие результаты показали евразийские перевозки в непростом 2021 году?