Rail Container Transportation in the First Half of 2023

10.26.2023

The Eurasian railway route is undergoing a fundamental transformation associated with the replacement of lost transit volumes with cargo moving via the China-EAEU-China route. The reorientation of Russia’s trade and economic relations towards the East provides opportunities for the development of the route in this direction.

The first half of 2023 has served as an important stage, reflecting the adaptation of the Eurasian railway route to new realities. The general results of the reporting period show an increase in the volume of transported cargo. In total, in the first half of 2023, 350.7 thousand TEUs travelled along the route, more than during the same period last year. These indicators reflect the work done to maintain the stability of the Eurasian railway route and adapt to external shocks.

In October 2022, there was a reverse transition of the cost advantage from rail to sea transport. The sea freight index between China and Europe in the period from January to June 2023 fell from $2,086 to $1,576 per FEU, although back in June 2022 its value was $7,376 per container.

Against this background, the indicators of the ERAI railway container transportation index for the same period showed ultra-low volatility: f rom $2,987 per FEU in June 2022 to $2,944 in June 2023. Thus, against the backdrop of new international upheavals, the railway has confirmed its title as the most stable mode of transport, especially over the long term. For the Eurasian railway route, such changes mean a return of the global market to what predominated before 2020.

At the end of the first half of 2023, the total volume of cargo transported along the Eurasian railway route across all segments amounted to 350.7 thousand TEUs, which is 44.2 thousand TEUs more than for the same period in 2022. It is characteristic that transit transportation in the China-Europe-China route accounted for 114.1 thousand TEUs, which is 32.5% of all transported cargo. Thus, a restructuring of transportation took place, where the drop in China-Europe- China transit volumes was replaced by increased imports to Russia from China and exports from Russia and the EAEU countries to China.

Along with the reduction in overall transit indicators, there was a drop in indicators in certain directions. Transportation in the China-Europe direction fell to slightly more than half (51.25%) what it had been: from 143.9 thousand TEUs in the first half of 2022 to 73.7 thousand in the first half of 2023. In the opposite Europe-China direction, a similar trend is observed: from 77.3 thousand TEUs in the first half of 2022 to 40.3 thousand TEUs during the first half of 2023.

Simultaneously with the significant drop in China-Europe-China traffic in the first half of 2023, there was an increase in import-export traffic between China and the EAEU countries, both in aggregate and separately, in the Eurasian railway space, relative to the same period in 2022. According to UTLC ERA’s data, the highest growth rates in transportation through the Eurasian corridor are observed along the EAEU — China (+248.3%), as well as China — Russia (+122.3%) route. An absolute increase in the China-Belarus direction is also visible (+26.6 thousand TEUs).

The first half of 2023 clearly demonstrated how the transport and logistics market is being transformed under the influence of external factors. The nature of these changes, caused both by the objective economic indicators of the countries engaging in transportation and by the international political situation, indicates a high level of adaptability and constant demand for rail transportation.

The second half of 2023 will reveal whether it is possible for the trends that have already begun to continue, and whether opportunities to increase transportation will be realized.

Analytics on topic
Report
11.21.2018
Report
11.21.2018
Making the railways of the future for the region
Over 65 participants from national administrations, international organizations, non-governmental organizations and the private sector discussed, over a number of sessions, the role of innovation in the sector and good practices that are helping develop the railways across the region.
Source: United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)
Article
09.08.2022
Comprehensive Investment Agreement One Year Later: View from European Capitals
The policy brief titled "Comprehensive Investment Agreement One Year Later: View from European Capitals" seeks to clarify the prospects for an "unfreezing" of the EU-China investment agreement based on current developments in the European Union.
Source:

Контейнерные железнодорожные перевозки на евразийском пространстве в первом полугодии 2023 года

26.10.2023

Евразийский ж/д маршрут переживает фундаментальную трансформацию, связанную с замещением выпадающих транзитных объёмов грузами, перемещающимися в сообщении Китай — ЕАЭС — Китай. Переориентация торгово-экономических связей России на Восток обеспечивает возможности по развитию маршрута в этом направлении.

Первое полугодие 2023 года стало важным этапом, отражающим адаптацию евразийского ж/д маршрута к новым реалиям. Общие итоги отчётного периода показывают прирост объёмов перевезённых грузов. Суммарно в первом полугодии 2023 года по маршруту проследовало 350,7 тыс. ДФЭ, что выше показателя аналогичного периода прошлого года. Данные показатели отражают проведённую работу по сохранению стабильности евразийского ж/д маршрута и адаптации к внешним шокам.

В октябре 2022 года произошёл обратный переход стоимостного преимущества от железнодорожного к морскому транспорту. Индекс морских грузоперевозок между Китаем и Европой WCI Drewry в период с января по июнь 2023 года упал с 2086 долл. до 1576 долл. за СФЭ, хотя ещё в июне 2022 года его значение составляло 7376 долл. за контейнер.

На этом фоне показатели индекса ж/д контейнерных перевозок ERAI за тот же период показали сверхнизкую волатильность: от 2987 долл. за СФЭ в июне 2022 года до 2944 долл. в июне 2023 года. Таким образом, железная дорога на фоне новых международных потрясений подтвердила звание наиболее стабильного вида транспорта, особенно в долгосрочной перспективе. Для евразийского ж/д маршрута подобные изменения означают возвращение внешней конъюнктуры к ситуации до 2020 года.

По итогам первого полугодия 2023 года объём перевезённых по евразийскому железнодорожному маршруту грузов суммарно по всем сегментам составил 350,7 тыс. ДФЭ, что на 44,2 тыс. ДФЭ больше, чем за аналогичный период 2022 года. Характерно, что на транзитные перевозки в сообщении Китай — Европа — Китай при этом пришлось 114,1 тыс. ДФЭ, что составляет 32,5% всех перевезённых грузов. Таким образом, произошла реструктуризация перевозок, где падение транзитных объёмов было замещено за счёт возросших импортных поставок в Россию из Китая и экспорта России и стран ЕАЭС в Китай.

Вкупе с сокращением общих показателей транзита произошло падение показателей и по отдельным направлениям. Двукратному сокращению (на 51,25%) подверглись перевозки в направлении Китай — Европа: со 143,9 тыс. ДФЭ в первом полугодии 2022 года до 73,7 тыс. в первом полугодии 2023 года. В обратном направлении наблюдается похожая тенденция: от 77,3 тыс. ДФЭ за первое полугодие 2022 года к 40,3 тыс. ДФЭ за первое полугодие 2023 года.

Одновременно с чувствительным падением транзитных перевозок по итогам первого полугодия 2023 года на евразийском железнодорожном простран- стве произошёл рост импортно-экспортных перевозок Китая со странами ЕАЭС, как в совокупности, так и по отдельности, относительно того же периода в 2022 году. По данным ОТЛК ЕРА, наибольшие темпы роста в перевозках через евразийский коридор наблюдаются по линии ЕАЭС — Китай (+248,3%), а также Китай — Россия (+122,3%). Также виден абсолютный прирост в направ- лении Китай — Беларусь (+26,5 тыс. ДФЭ).

Первое полугодие 2023 года наглядно продемонстрировало, каким образом происходит трансформация транспортно-логистического рынка под воздействием внешних факторов. Характер данных изменений, вызванных как объективными экономическими показателями стран — участниц перевозок, так и международно-политической конъюнктурой, говорит о высоком уровне адаптивности и постоянной востребованности перевозок по железной дороге.

Вторая половина 2023 года покажет, возможно ли продолжение уже начавшихся тенденций, а также будут ли реализованы возможности по наращиванию перевозок.

Аналитика на тему
Статья
02.06.2022
Простой расчёт
Железнодорожный транзитный индекс ERAI стал ориентиром для принятия решений у зарубежных экспортёров и перевозчиков
Обзор
12.06.2020
Обзор
12.06.2020
Обзор экономики Франции

Текущая конъюнктура рынка грузовых железнодорожных перевозок Франции и прогнозные значения основных макроэкономических показателей свидетельствуют об оживлении экономической активности.